Cautious Clay Karpeh 180g LP

Cautious Clay

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming August 18, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Cautious Clay's Blue Note Debut on 180g Vinyl!

Cautious Clay releases his Blue Note debut, Karpeh, a deeply personal album that finds the singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and producer also known as Joshua Karpeh taking a giant artistic leap forward with an ambitious yet introspective song cycle about growth, conceptions of intimacy, and lineage that reveals a new side of his artistry by delving deeper than ever into his jazz roots.

Across the album's 15 tracks Cautious can be heard on vocals, flute, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet, guitar, synthesizer, and bass. He also invites a wide range of collaborators into the fold including leading lights of the modern jazz world such as Julian Lage, trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, saxophonist Immanuel Wilkins, vibraphonist Joel Ross, keyboardist Julius Rodriguez, bassist Joshua Crumbly, and drummer Sean Rickman. Other guests on the album include his uncle, bassist Kai Eckhardt, and the acclaimed Pakistani vocalist Arooj Aftab.

For all of Cautious' dexterity around multiple instruments, it's always in service of the music's narratives. "I wanted it to be musical for the sake of telling a story," he explains. "Throughout this album, I am equating my life's journey to an amalgamation of my family's past life experiences, an exploration of my present, and how those pieces will influence by future."

Cautious sequenced the album thematically in three sections with interludes throughout containing audio recordings of his relatives recounting bits of family history. The first section he calls "The Past Explained" with songs that touch upon his early experiences growing up in Cleveland including the album's lead single "Ohio." The middle section of the album is what Cautious calls "The Honeymoon of Exploration." These five songs depict some of his experiences with psychedelics, which inspired self-reflection and the desire for deeper forms of intimacy with others. The concluding four songs constitute the third thematic section, which Cautious calls "A Bitter & Sweet Solitude." Cautious posits that when we allow ourselves to spend quality time in solitude it enables us to forge better relationships with ourselves and others, therefore sparking deeper intimacy.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Explicit Content


Cautious Clay vocals, flute, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet, guitar, synthesizer, bass
Julian Lage guitar
Ambrose Akinmusire trumpet
Immanuel Wilkins saxophone
Joel Ross vibraphone
Julius Rodriguez keyboards
Joshua Crumbly bass
Sean Rickman drummer
Kai Eckhardt bass
Arooj Aftab vocals


Side A:

  1. 102 Years of Comedy
  2. Fishtown
  3. Ohio
  4. Karpehs Don't Flinch
  5. The Tide Is My Witness
  6. Take a Half
  7. Another Half (with Julian Lage)
  8. Repeat Myself
  9. Glass Face (with Kai Echkardt & Arooj Aftab)

Side B:

  1. Walls & a Roof
  2. Unfinished House (with Julian Lage)
  3. Blue Lips (with Julian Lage)
  4. Tears of Fate
  5. Yesterday's Price (with Immanuel Wilkins & Ambrose Akinmusire)
  6. Moment's Stolen

Customers Also Like