Genre: Female Vocals
Label: Nonesuch
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Cecile McLorin Salvant Melusine LP

Cecile McLorin Salvant

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Follow-Up to 2022's Critically Acclaimed Ghost Song on Vinyl LP!
Sung in French, Occitan, English & Haitian Creole!

Tracking Angle Rated 10/10 Music, 10/10 Sonics!

Cécile McLorin Salvant's album Mélusine features a mix of five originals and interpretations of nine songs, dating as far back as the twelfth century, mostly sung in French along with Occitan, English, and Haitian Kreyòl, that tell the folk tale of Mélusine, a woman who turns into a half-snake each Saturday after a childhood curse by her mother. Mélusine agrees to marry Raymondin on the condition that he never see her on Saturdays. He agrees but is later convinced by his brother to break his promise, piercing his wife's door with a sword and finding her naked in the bath, half snake, half woman. When she catches him spying on her, she turns into a dragon and flies away, only to reappear every time one of her descendants is on their deathbed.

Salvant, whose parents are French and Haitian, says Mélusine is also "partly about that feeling of being a hybrid, a mixture of different cultures, which I've experienced not only as the American-born child of two first generation immigrants, but as someone raised in a family that is racially mixed, from several different countries, with different languages spoken in the home."

One of the most daring and resourceful vocalists in jazz — or any other genre, for that matter
It's unlike anything she's done before—unlike anything anyone has done before, at least not on a major American record label... Here's the main thing you need to know: This is a gorgeous album. Salvant's voice is gorgeous. The arrangements are gorgeous. And the songs are gorgeous.
-Fred Kaplan, Tracking Angle, Music 10/10, Sound 10/10


  • 140g Vinyl
  • Insert
  • Made in the Netherlands


  1. Est-ce ainsi que les hommes vivent?
  2. La route enchantée
  3. Il m'a vue nue
  4. Dites moi que je suis belle
  5. Doudou
  6. Petite musique terrienne
  7. Aida
  8. Mélusine
  9. Wedo
  10. D'un feu secret
  11. Le temps est assassin
  12. Fenestra
  13. Domna N'Almucs
  14. Dame Iseut

Customers Also Like