Charles Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus 180g 45rpm 2LP

Charles Mingus

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g 45rpm Double LP!
Mastered by Kevin Gray from the Original Master Tape!
Pressed at QRP!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Produced by Impulse! A&R director Bob Thiele in 1963, this recording is a major showcase of the talented Charles Mingus as a bassist, pianist and writer. In his 1963 original liner notes, critic-at-large Nat Hentoff said that of all the musicians, it is impossible to remain indifferent to Mingus. This recording more than any other testifies to Hentoff's claim. More so today than in '60s, there is truly only one Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus.

...this reissue has a life and immediacy I've not heard before with this title, whose stunning music overwhelms any flaws of the recording."
-Wayne Garcia, The Absolute Sound, June/July 2009


  • 180g Vinyl
  • 45rpm
  • Double LP
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray from the Original Master Tape
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings


Eddie Preston trumpet (all tracks)
Richard Williams trumpet (Tracks 1, 4-7)
Rolf Ericson trumpet (Tracks 2-3, 5)
Britt Woodman trombone (Tracks 1, 4-7)
Quentin Jackson trombone (Tracks 2-3, 5)
Don Butterfield tuba (all tracks)
Jerome Richardson soprano & baritone sax, flute (all tracks)
Dick Hafer tenor sax, clarinet, flute (all tracks)
Booker Ervin tenor sax (Tracks 1, 4-7)
Eric Dolphy alto sax, flute (Tracks 1, 4-7)
Charles Mariano alto sax (Tracks 2-3, 5)
Jaki Byard piano (all tracks)
Charlie Mingus bass, piano (all tracks)
Walter Perkins drums (Tracks 1, 4-7)
Dannie Richmond drums (Tracks 2-3, 5)


  1. II B.S.
  2. I X Love
  3. Celia
  4. Mood Indigo
  5. Better Get Hit in Yo' Soul
  6. Theme for Lester Young
  7. Hora Decubitus

Customers Also Like