Genre: Jazz
Label: Edition
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Chris Potter There Is A Tide LP

Chris Potter

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

New Vinyl LP by Jazz Multi-Instrumentalist Chris Potter!

TAS Rated 5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the February 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

It's a year no one will forget, a year in which the global lockdown was shared by all, and yet experienced in a million different ways. For Chris Potter, a musician who has been on the road continuously since the 1990s, whose raison d'être is playing live, lockdown presented both a challenge and an opportunity. It's a tribute to his creativity, personal integrity and huge musical talent that Chris was able to take on this challenge and make something unbelievably fresh from the opportunity. Starting in May 2020, as the Black Lives Matter movement was kicking off (reflected in the track 'I Had A Dream'), Chris set out to create something alone, to express his reaction to these chaotic times.

Playing each and every instrument: piano, keyboards, electric and acoustic guitars, bass guitar, drums, clarinet, bass clarinet, flute, alto flute, percussion, samples and of course saxophones, Chris took just six weeks to complete the whole process.

This new album uniquely features Chris playing on all instruments - it's his Lockdown album.

Various instruments float in and out of the mix before falling into tight unisons on the buoyant and engaging opening track, 'I Had a Dream.' The song features Potter channeling his inner Sonny Rollins on a potent, melodic improvisation on tenor before he summons up Shorter on a soaring soprano solo in the second half of the piece. The African-flavored 12/8 'Mother of Waters,' which has him laying down an entrancing groove on kalimba, Fender Rhodes, and juju-inspired guitar lines, serves as a launching pad for a smoking soprano solo while the angular funk of 'Rising Over You' has him ripping on soprano and tenor saxes. Other highlights include his bass clarinet and flute showcase, 'Drop Your Anchor Down,' the guitar-driven 'Beneath the Waves,' and the mellow lullaby, 'Rest Your Head.'
-Bill Milkowski, The Absolute Sound, February 2021, Music 5/5, Sonics 4.5/5


  • Vinyl LP
  • Music composed by Chris Potter
  • All instruments played by Chris Potter
  • Recorded by Chris Potter
  • Made in the EU


Chris Potter tenor & soprano saxophones, clarinet, bass clarinet, flute, alto flute, piano, keyboards, electric & acoustic guitars, bass guitar, drums, percussion, samples


Side A:

  1. I Had A Dream
  2. Like A Memory
  3. Mother Of Waters
  4. Rising Over You
  5. Oh So Many Stars

Side B:

  1. Drop Your Anchor Down
  2. Beneath The Waves
  3. Rest Your Head
  4. As The Moon Ascends
  5. New Life (In The Wake Of Devastation)

Customers Also Like