Genre: R&B
Label: Sundazed
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Chuck Jackson On Tour 180g LP

Chuck Jackson

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180 Gram Vinyl! Pressed at RTI!
Mastered From Original Wand Analogue Tapes!

A 1964 live set from the peak of Chuck Jackson's career! With intensified versions of some of his early hits plus strong takes on other R&B anthems, On Tour--here in the rare stereo mix--documents one of soul's legendary voices hard at work!

In the original liner notes for Chuck Jackson on Tour (1964), Bob King describes Jackson as "a man with pent up talent". Consequently, this LP is the sound of that talent erupting all over the stage of the famed Apollo Theater, the same venue where Jackson had been discovered a few years earlier. Jackson leads the airtight band through raw, sweat-soaked versions of his hits “I Wake Up Crying” and “Any Day Now,” giving the audience their money’s worth and more. He also includes well-chosen covers, like Marvin Gaye’s “Stubborn Kind of Fellow,” Ben E. King’s “Stand by Me” and the King of the Apollo himself, James Brown’s “Please Please Please.” In a true testament to his ability, he makes each of these songs his own, infusing every line with deep emotion. If you only know him from his smoothly-orchestrated studio recordings, Chuck Jackson on Tour will give you an entirely new take on this legendary performer.

Working from the original Wand analog reels, Sundazed has mastered this explosive album in the rare true stereo mix for an immersive listening experience. Pressed at R.T.I. on gorgeous 180 gram vinyl, put this platter on the hi-fi and turn it UP!

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at RTI
• Mastered from original Wand analogue reels

Side A:

1. Billie Baby
2. Any Other Way
3. Any Day Now
4. Please Please Please
5. Stand By Me
Side B:
1. Stubborn Kind of Fellow
2. I Wake Up Crying
3. Beg Me
4. I Will Never Turn My Back On You
5. I Don't Want To Cry
6. Chuck's Soul Brothers Twist

Customers Also Like