Claudio Abbado Mahler Symphony No. 3 Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import 2SACD

Claudio Abbado

$109.99 $149.99
(You save $40.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Hybrid Double SACD!
Featuring ESOTERIC's Proprietary Re-Mastering Process to Achieve the Highest Level of Sound Quality!
Japanese Pressing, Deluxe Digi-pak Packaging, THE definitive Classical Performance on SACD!

Claudio Abbado conducts the Berlin Philharmonic in Gustav Mahler's Symphonies Nos. 3 and 1 featuring contralto Anna Larsson and the London Symphony Chorus. Recorded October 11, 1999 at Royal Festival Hall in London (No. 3), and December 1989 at Philharmonie, Berlin (No. 1).

Classical masterpiece collection
The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid Super Audio CD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release. These new audio versions feature ESOTERIC's proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

Experience by yourself...
Experience the legendary performance in this new Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the "soul" hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Mastering Engineer: Masaya Touno (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Technical Manager: Tetsuya Kato (ESOTERIC COMPANY)

ESOTERIC equipment used for re-mastering
The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master. ESOTERIC's flag ship D/A converters, model Grandioso D1X, Master clock generator model Grandioso G1X and ESOTERIC MEXCEL interconnect cables and power cords, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master.


  • Limited Edition - One Time Pressing
  • Double Disc Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • DSD Mastering
  • Deluxe digipack packaging
  • Made in Japan


Anna Larsson contralto
London Symphony Chorus
Stephen Westtrop chorus master
City of Birmingham Symphony Youth Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus master
Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado conductor


Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

Disc 1
Symphonie No. 3 d-moll
Erster Abteilung
  1. Kräftig. Entschieden
  2. Immer das gleiche Tempo [11*]
  3. ITempo I [18]
  4. IZeit lassen [29]
  5. IZeit lassen [33]
  6. IImmer dasselbe Tempo (Marsch) [43]
  7. IIm alten Marschtempo (Allegro Moderato) [3 bars after 54]
  8. ITempo I [62]
Zweite Abteilung
  1. Tempo di Menuetto. Sehr mässig
  2. L'istesso tempo [3]
  3. A tempo (Wie im Anfang) [6]
  4. Ganz plötzlich gemächlich. Tempo di Menuetto [14]
  5. Comodo. Scherzando. Ohne Hast
  6. Wieder sehr gemächlich, wie zu Anfang [6]
  7. Etwas zurückhaltend [6 bars before 14]
  8. Tempo I [2 bars before 17]
  9. Wieder sehr gemächlich, beinahe langsam [27]
O Mensch! Gib acht! (Alt-solo)
(Text: Friedrich Nietzsche "Also sprach Zarathustra")
  1. Sehr langsam. Misterioso. Durchaus ppp
  2. Più mosso subito [6 bars after 6]
Lustig im Tempo und keck im Ausdruck
  1. Bimm Bamm! Es sungen drei Engel (Chor, Alt-solo)
    (Text: "Des Knaben Wunderhorn")
Disc 2
Symphonie No. 1 d-moll
  1. Langsam. Ruhevoll. Empfunden
  2. Nicht mehr so breit [4]
  3. Tempo I. Ruhevoll [9]
  4. Nicht mehr so breit [13]
  5. Tempo I [21]
  6. Langsam. Tempo I [25]
  7. Applause
Symphonie No. 1 D-dur
  1. Langsam. Schleppend. wie ein Naturlaut - Im Anfang sehr gemächlich
  2. Kräftig bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell - Trio. Recht gemächlich
  3. Feierlich und gemessen, ohne zu schleppen
  4. Stürmisch bewegt

Recorded: 11 October 1999, Royal Festival Hall, London [No. 3]; December 1989, Philharmonie, Berlin [No. 1]

Customers Also Like