Country Funk (1969-1975) 2LP (Orange Swirl Vinyl)

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Volume 1 Repressed On Limited Edition Orange Swirl Vinyl 2LP!
Featuring Rare Cuts by Bob Darin, Gray Fox, Dennis The Fox, Cherokee, Gritz & More!
Pressed At RTI!

What in the hell is country funk you ask? The answer is a complicated one, in part due to the fact that Country Funk is an inherently defiant genre, escaping all efforts at easy categorization. The style encompasses the elation of gospel with the sexual thrust of the blues, country hoedown harmony with inner city grit. It is alternately playful and melancholic, slow jammin', and booty shakin'. It is both studio slick and barroom raw. And while these all may seem unlikely combinations at first glance, upon close listen, it all makes sweet sense. Light In The Attic presents Country Funk 1969-1975, a melting pot concoction of the music of Dale Hawkins, John Randolph Marr, Cherokee, Johnny Adams, Mac Davis, Bob Darin, Jim Ford, Gray Fox, Link Wray, Bobby Charles, Tony Joe White, Dennis The Fox, Larry Jon Wilson, Bobbie Gentry, Gritz, and Johnny Jenkins.

Featuring extensive liner notes by Jessica Hundley (MOJO, The New York Times, Vogue), original album/label artwork, and new illustrations by Jess Rotter (, Rotter & Friends), this down home package is not only a treat for the ears, but a feast for the eyes. Think of this as a fantasyland where the Josie-era Meters back young Elvis singing Kris Kristofferson-penned slices of rustic American life and you'll begin to understand the country funk vibe. It's from the swamp to the city and all points in between.


  • Limited Edition - 1000 Copies Worldwide
  • Orange Swirl Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Volume one of the acclaimed Country Funk series
  • All tracks remastered
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Gatefold jacket with obi strip
  • Liner notes insert
  • Illustrations by Jess Rotter


Side A:

  1. L.A. Memphis Tyler Texas - Dale Hawkins
  2. Hello L.A., Bye-Bye Birmingham - John Randolph Marr
  3. Georgia Morning Dew - Johnny Adams
  4. Lucas Was A Redneck - Mac Davis

Side B:

  1. Light Blue - Bob Darin
  2. I Wanta Make Her Love Me - Jim Ford
  3. Hawg Frog - Gray Fox
  4. Fire And Brimstone - Link Wray

Side C:

  1. Street People - Bobby Charles
  2. Funky Business - Cherokee
  3. Studspider - Tony Joe White
  4. Piledriver - Dennis The Fox

Side D:

  1. Ohoopee River Bottomland - Larry Jon Wilson
  2. He Made A Woman Out Of Me - Bobbie Gentry
  3. Bayou Country - Gritz
  4. I Walk On Gilded Splinters - Johnny Jenkins

Customers Also Like