Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Darlingside
Format: 45RPM,
Size: 12"


Darlingside Pilot Machines Numbered Limited Edition 200g 45rpm 2LP


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
ADRL 001
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Numbered, Limited Edition - 500 Copies!
45rpm 200g Vinyl! Pressed at Quality Record Pressings!
Mastered by Doug Sax!

The Massachusetts-based string-rock quintet Darlingside presents Pilot Machines. The album's title comes from lyrics that touch on the themes of people, places, humans and machines.

Darlingside consists of David Senft, vocals and guitar; Harris Paseltiner, cello, guitar and vocals; Auyon Mukharji, mandolin, violin and vocals; Don Mitchell, guitar and vocals; and Sam Kapala, drums and vocals. The group members went to college in Massachusetts and had all played music together in various combinations over the course of their education. "It wasn't until we'd all graduated that we came together as a full-fledged band, though, and we hadn't played together as a five-man unit until we set up our basement rehearsal space," Kapala told the Portland (Maine) Press Herald in an interview.

For its new album Darlingside brought in some producing firepower. The group teamed up with producer Nathaniel Kunkel (Sting, Crosby/Nash, Maroon 5) through an unusual connection: "His mom is our lawyer. She lives in Northampton, and she passed our self-recorded EP along to Nate, and he got in touch to say he was intrigued and wanted to chat about making a record together," Kapala said. "... to end up on a Skype video chat with him just a few weeks later was a pipe dream come true."

Pilot Machines features a diverse musical menu. "Drowning Elvis," has a very spaced-out drum groove, lots of strings and a clean guitar sound. The lyrics are adapted from a poem written by one of Mitchell's high school roommates, and the arrangement is the product of many hours in the basement of the home they share in Hadley, Mass., "grinding through different options and making tough choices about bass notes and guitar chords," Kapala said. Other tunes, "The Woods" and "Ava," both have really big loud moments. "The Woods" showcases unique vocal harmonies, "a crazy violin part over the final verse," and a short spaced-out outro with some heavily processed vocal pads.

• Numbered, Limited Edtion - 500 Copies
• 200g Vinyl
• Hand-printed jacket
• 45rpm Double LP
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings

LP1 - Side A:
1. Still
2. The Woods
3. Drowning Elvis
LP1 - Side B:
1. Ava
2. The Company We Keep
3. Blow the House Down
LP2 - Side C:
1. Only Echoes
2. When Fortune Comes
3. My Love
LP2 - Side D:
1. Terrible Things
2. The Ancestor
3. Sweet and Low

Customers Also Like