Genre: Jazz
Label: Sheffield Lab


Dave Grusin Discovered Again! Plus CD

Dave Grusin

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
One of Dave Grusin's Most Pleasurable Recordings!

Without doubt, one of Dave Grusin's most pleasurable recordings. For this release, Grusin hired a special group of musicians. They are also the same guys Grusin hires for most of his work. They’re up to it and they suit him. One, bassist Ron Carter, was an import. Anyone who knows jazz knows Ron Carter. The sound he can get from an acoustic bass (full sized, not three-quarter) is like nobody else’s sound.

The guitar player is Lee Ritenour, who is too young to play as well as he does, but Grusin lets him get away with it. Indeed, it would be hard to stop him. It is difficult to pin down the reasons for rapport between musicians at their work. Grusin and Ritenour generate a similar momentum; they’re both fast, disreputable, and great little dancers.

Drummer Harvey Mason is a staple of your basic Dave Grusin rhythm section. His agility is seemingly effortless. He keeps the time where Grusin likes to hear it, while painting on colors of his own.

Larry Bunker is the formidable vibraharpist and percussionist on the album. Rarely will one find a more contained musician, nor a more various and capable one. Bunker is what the word veteran is for.

• CD

Dave Grusin, vocals, piano
Ron Carter, bass
Lee Ritenour, guitar
Harvey Mason, drums
Larry Bunker, percussion

1. A Child Is Born
2. Keep Your Eye On The Sparrow
3. Sun Song
4. Captain Bacardi
5. Three Cowboy Songs: Git Along Little Dogies
6. Three Cowboy Songs: The Colorado Trail
7. Three Cowboy Songs: Cripple Creek Breakdown
8. Adeus a Papai
9. Keep Your Eye On The Sparrow (alternative performance)
10. Sun Song (alternative performance)
11. Git Along Little Dogies (alternative performance)
12. The Colorado Trail (alternative performance)

Customers Also Like