Genre: Alternative
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Dave Hunt
Format: 33RPM,


Diamanda Galas The Divine Punishment LP

Diamanda Galas

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming August 19, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

1986 No-Wave Masterpiece on Vinyl LP.
First Time on Vinyl in 33 Years!
Remastered from the Original Mixes with Exceptional Clarity!

On June 30, 1986, the same day that Diamanda Galás's The Divine Punishment was released, the Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of Georgia's so-called sodomy law in Bowers v. Hardwick, criminalizing consensual sex between men. At the time, about 15,000 people were known to have died of AIDS in the U.S. alone, with little government acknowledgement besides suggestions to quarantine homosexuals on island colonies. By the end of 2021, the number of AIDS deaths globally would exceed 36 million.

The first album in her "Masque of the Red Death" trilogy, The Divine Punishment is one of the most jarring works of art produced in response to the AIDS epidemic, and a milestone in Diamanda Galás's artistry and activism. Galás uses her famous voice both as an oratorical instrument and as well as a physical representation of AIDS and those it afflicts. The album features the "panphonic" dirge work of Galás, accompanied by analogue synthesizers played by Dave Hunt. The texts are primarily taken from the Old Testament, contrasting the hectoring lawmakers of Leviticus with the desperate appeals of the Lamentations and Book of Psalms (Psalm 22, 59, and 88). In doing so, she indicts those who use religion to instigate the witch hunts that inevitably accompany real and perceived plagues.

Today, The Divine Punishment sounds no less audacious than when it was released in 1986, but one hears it with a sense of shared trauma and a renewed call to action. Galás imbues all her work with the crushing weight of history - the hypnotic cadences of her vocal work are precisely aligned to the liturgical texts employed. Remastered with exceptional clarity by mastering engineer Heba Kadry working from the original mixes by London-based producer/composer Dave Hunt, it's a work of great empathy, solidarity, and physical power. Coming amid another pandemic marked by ignorance and division, its anger and fervor feels remarkably urgent.

Compelling but brutal. An ugly, brooding masterpiece.
-John Dougan,, 4.5/5 stars


  • First Time on Vinyl Since 1989
  • Remastered with Exceptional Clarity by Mastering Engineer Heba Kadry
  • Remastered from Dave Hunt's Original Mixes
  • Full-Sized Poster/Lyric Insert


  1. Deliver Me from Mine Enemies: I. This Is the Law of the Plague
  2. Deliver Me from Mine Enemies: II. Deliver Me from Mine Enemies
  3. Deliver Me from Mine Enemies: III. We Shall Not Accept Your Quarantine
  4. Deliver Me from Mine Enemies: IV. Ε Ξελ?υ Mε [Deliver Me]
  5. Deliver Me from Mine Enemies: V. Yιατ?, Ó Θε?ς?
  6. Deliver Me from Mine Enemies: VI. Psalm 22 (Exc.)
  7. Free Among the Dead: I. Psalm 88
  8. Free Among the Dead: II. Lamentations Chapter 3 (Exc.)
  9. Free Among the Dead: III. Sono L'Antichristo

Customers Also Like