Genre: Jazz


Dick Hyman From The Age Of Swing HRX DVD-R

Dick Hyman

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This disc will NOT play on CD, DVD or SACD Players! HRx 176kH/24-Bit DVD-R - For Music Servers Only!

HRx DVD-R data discs contain exact, digit-for-digit copies of the original Reference Recordings 176.4 kHz / 24-bit digital masters. This is the ultimate in fidelity for two-channel sound: TRUE high-resolution audio, ready to load from DVD-R data discs onto your computer music server!
To play HRx, the files on the DVD-R data disc must be uploaded to a computer music server, which then will play the music files through your audio system. (You cannot play them on CD, DVD, or SACD players!!!)

Best of Show award for “Greatest Technological Breakthrough: Reference Recordings’ HRx ultra-high resolution (176.4/24) digital music format.” (Alan Taffel: The Absolute Sound, April/May 2008)

"Reference Recordings, a company at the forefront of technical advancements for the past 30 years, has broken through the technical barriers to deliver to listeners the exact high-resolution digital bitstreams created during the recording sessions. The company's HRx format encodes as WAV files on a DVD the master recording, which was sampled at 176.4kHz with 24-bit resolution. For the first time, you can listen to the original high-resolution datastream of some spectacular titles from the Reference Recordings catalog." - Robert Harley, The Absolute Sound, January 2009

From the Age of Swing features jazz piano great Dick Hyman some of the greatest jazzmen who lived and played through The Age of Swing: Phil Bodner, Urbie Green, Milt Hinton, Butch Miles, Bucky Pizzarelli, Joe Temperley, Frank Wess and Joe Wilder! This new 176.4 kHz/24 bit release, transferred from the original analogue master, will knock your socks off with its fabulous performances and sonics! The CD has been a perennial favorite at Reference Recordings.

HRx is for computer audio playback only - the discs will not play on CD, DVD or SACD players.

Dick Hyman, piano
Phil Bodner, alto saxophone, clarinet
Urbie Green, trombone
Milt Hinton, acoustic bass
Butch Miles, drums
Bucky Pizzarelli, rhythm guitar
Joe Temperley, baritone saxophone
Frank Wess, alto saxophone
Joe Wilder, trumpet, flugelhorn

• First Edition November 2010

1. From the Age of Swing
2. You're Driving Me Crazy/Moten Swing
3. Topsy
4. Moonglow
5. Them There Eyes
6. Dooji Wooji
7. Soft Winds
8. What Is There To Say?
9. 'Deed I Do
10. Rose Room
11. I Know What You Do
12. Mean To Me
13. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
14. From the Age of Swing

Total playing time, 66:08

Recorded May 24 & 25, 1994 at Concert Hall A, SUNY Purchase, New York.

Customers Also Like