Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Dick Hyman & Mary Mayo Moon Gas LP

Dick Hyman & Mary Mayo

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Vinyl LP Reissue!

Alternative Fox present a reissue of Dick Hyman and Mary Mayo's Moon Gas, originally released in 1963. Adventurous keyboardist and arranger Dick Hyman worked in radio, film, and television before making a name for himself as a jazz pianist in the mid-1950s with a hugely popular harpsichord rendition of "Mack The Knife". An early experimenter with electronic instruments, including the Moog, his 1963 rarity Moon Gas, produced by Creed Taylor and recorded with Sinatra sidekick and Broadway musical mainstay Mary Mayo, was conceived as "a glimpse of the possible sounds of the 22nd Century". Blasting lounge music and love ballads into the nether regions of outer space, Moon Gas pitted Hyman's organ, mini-organ, and piano riffs against Mayo's ethereal voice -- sometimes singing wordlessly, other times with actual lyrics -- atop a tight studio ensemble, the sounds made more otherworldly through the use of an ondioline, a martinot, oscillators, and Vinnie Bell's customized guitar, which allowed for individualized sound effects. Although improvised opener "Moon Gas" sounds pleasantly jazzy, "Maid Of The Moon" and "Space Reflex" reach the cosmos and there's a one-off rendition of João Gilberto's "Desafinado" too, delivered with skill in Portuguese.


  • Vinyl LP Reissue


Side One:

  1. Moon Gas
  2. Maid Of The Moon
  3. Isn't It Odd
  4. Stella By Starlight
  5. Imagination
  6. Space Reflex (Blues In 5/4)

Side Two:

  1. Bye, Bye Blues
  2. They Can't Take That Away From Me
  3. For All We Know
  4. Desafinado (Slightly Out Of Tune)
  5. I'm Glad There Is You
  6. Star Eyes

Customers Also Like