Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WEA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Donald Fagen The Nightfly LP

Donald Fagen

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Steely Dan's Donald Fagen and his 1982 Album The Nightfly! Featuring "I.G.Y." and "New Frontier".

Mastered for Vinyl by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios from the Original Master Tapes! Pressed at Furnace on Premium High-Quality Vinyl!

Released in 1982, this was Fagen’s first album project post-Steely Dan. Marking a considerable departure from his earlier work, The Nightfly eschewed that outfit’s ironic distance in favor of autobiographical intimacy. The album, one of the best-produced ever, was recorded with the painstaking attention to detail that was such a part of Steely Dan. In fact, Fagen used the same top session players.

"Everyone does play "I.G.Y." It's become the "Freebird" of pro audio - visit a linecheck at a major concert venue or a speaker demo at AES or InfoComm, and those familiar strains will turn up sooner or later. It's a well-recorded song, to be sure, which is why it's always used to illustrate a system's "tight low end"or "crystal-clear mids" or, to be honest, any other detail they want to point out." - Clive Young, Pro Sound News

"Continuing in the smooth pop-jazz mode favored on the final Steely Dan records, The Nightfly is lush and shimmering, produced with cinematic flair by Gary Katz; romanticized but never sentimental, the songs are slices of suburbanite soap opera, tales of space-age hopes (the hit "I.G.Y.") and Cold War fears (the wonderful "The New Frontier," a memoir of fallout-shelter love) crafted with impeccable style and sophistication." - Jason Ankeny,

Produced by was done by Gary Katz (Can't Buy A Thrill, Gaucho) and engineered by Roger Nichols (Steely Dan, John Denver, Beach Boys and many more!). Many of the musicians on The Nightfly had also played on previous Steely Dan records, including Jeff Porcaro, Rick Derringer and Larry Carlton. Similar to the Aja and Gaucho albums, a large number of studio musicians were employed, crediting 31 musicians as having played on the record!

This Classic Album received several Grammy nominations and produced two hit songs "I.G.Y." and "New Frontier".

• Premium High-Quality 140g Vinyl
• Mastered for Vinyl by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios from the Original Master Tapes!
• Stoughton single-pocket paper-wrapped jacket
• Includes lyric insert
• Pressed at Furnace MFG

Side One:
1. I.G.Y.
2. Green Flower Street
3. Ruby Baby
4. Maxine
Side Two:
1. New Frontier
2. The Nightfly
3. The Goodbye Look
4. Walk Between Raindrops

Customers Also Like