Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Dorothy Ashby Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp Of Dorothy Ashby Import LP (Clear Vinyl)

Dorothy Ashby

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Clear Vinyl LP - Only 300 Copies!

Sowing Records presents a reissue of Dorothy Ashby's Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp of Dorothy Ashby, originally released in 1961. Features female vibes player Terry Pollard. Comes with a version of The Skatalites' "Guns Of Navarone," which is a pretty surreal listening experience. Clear vinyl; edition of 300.

From the original liner notes: "Dorothy Ashby may not be the first jazz harpist (Caspar Reardon) or the first female jazz harpist (Adele Girard), but her good feeling for time and ability to construct melodic, guitar-like lines, mark her as the most accomplished modern jazz harpist...Accompanying her was another Detroit girl, Terry Pollard. Terry's main instrument is the piano and she is one of the best in the country, bar none. She is also a pretty fair country vibraharpist and in this set, Miss Pollard plays vibes exclusively. With them is still another Detroiter, Herman Wright, who like Miss Pollard has worked with Terry Gibbs and Yusef Lateef, and who also served as Miss Ashby's regular bassist....Completing the quartet is Jimmy Cobb, drummer for the Miles Davis group. During the proceedings, Cobb travels between brushes and sticks without upsetting the equilibrium of this essentially quiet set. There is wide range of material presented here, from blues like Benny Goodman's title number, 'Soft Winds,' and Miss Ashby's 'With Strings Attached,' to movie themes such as 'Laura,' 'Wild Is the Wind,' and 'Guns Of Navarone.' Then there are works by such superior writers of standards as Kurt Weill ('My Ship'); Gershwin ('The Man I Love' and 'Love Is Here To Stay')."


  • Limited Edition - 300 Copies
  • Clear Vinyl
  • Import


Dorothy Ashby harp
Terry Pollard vibes
Herman Wright bass
Jimmy Cobb drums


Side 1:

  1. Soft Winds
  2. Wild Is The Wind
  3. The Man I Love
  4. My Ship
  5. Love Is Here To Stay

Side 2:

  1. I've Never Been In Love Before
  2. With Strings Attached
  3. Laura
  4. Guns Of Navarone
  5. Misty
  6. The Gypsy In My Soul

Customers Also Like