Genre: Metal
Label: Relapse
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Dorthia Cottrell Death Folk Country LP (Translucent Gold Vinyl)

Dorthia Cottrell

$9.99 $23.99
(You save $14.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Translucent Gold Vinyl LP!
The Relapse Debut Solo Album from Windhand's Dorthia Cottrell!

Across both her solo work and as the vocalist of renowned doom band Windhand, Dorthia Cottrell envisions her music as both a document of love and a reconciliation with death. On her new album, Death Folk Country, Cottrell wards off death through creation - the most distilled form of love. The spirit of love passed on through her words will be the ultimate reward for earthly suffering. Cottrell's enigmatic presence guides listeners down a path of introspection - Death Folk Country's massive scope touches upon tales of love, loss, and so much more. "This album to me is about painting a picture of a place where my heart lives. I've always been asked what 'kind' of music I play by people," Cottrell explains. "The title Death Folk Country is partly me describing a genre that fits the sound, but it's also meant to be taken as a Naming, a coronation of the world inside me. Death Folk Country is the music and also the land where the music takes place, and the two have always been inextricable from each other."

...Death Folk Country is a rich, evocative album that confirms Dorthia Cottrell's talent functions just as well when the music whispers rather than howls.
-Mark Deming,


  • Translucent Gold Vinyl
  • Made in the Czech Republic


Side A:

  1. Death is the Punishment for Love
  2. Harvester
  3. Black Canyon
  4. Family Annihilator
  5. Effigy at the Gates of Ur

Side B:

  1. Midnight Boy
  2. Hell in My Water
  3. Take Up Serpents
  4. For Alicia
  5. Eat What I Kill
  6. Death is the Reward for Love

Customers Also Like