Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Eddie Higgins Standards by Request - 2nd Day 180g LP

Eddie Higgins

$24.99 $39.99
(You save $15.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Eddie Higgins Solo Piano Part 2 on 180g Vinyl LP!

Pianist Eddie Higgins may not be well known in the US, but he is hands down the most famous and prolific musician on the Venus Records roster. Since his 1997 Venus debut, Higgins has released more than 20 albums from the label.

Standards by Request - 1st Day and 2nd Day are a pair of solo piano albums that include a collection of standards requested by readers of Swing Journal. Forty of the top requests were given to Higgins and the plan was to record material for only one album. However, after recording 15 tracks on the first day—an extraordinary feat in itself—Higgins wanted to continue. So another recording took place the next day where Higgins recorded another 15 tracks.

The tracks on this release are presented in the order they were recorded. No music sheets were involved. Higgins is so talented as a pianist that his own arranging and pacing of tunes—as well as its spontaneous arrangement—were highly successful. The producer didn't feel the need to change a thing.

Standards by Request - 2nd Day shows why Higgins is such a popular artist. It's all here—the beautiful sound, exquisite touch, stylish swing, and harmonious improvisation. Sit back and enjoy the work of a master!


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Mixed and Mastered by Tetsuo Hara
  • Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix Stereo
  • Obi Strip
  • Made in Japan


Eddie Higgins piano


Side A:

  1. If Dreams Come True
  2. Dancing In the Dark
  3. I Didn't Know About You
  4. How Long Has This Been Going On
  5. I Don't Know What Time It Was

Side B:

  1. Don't Explain
  2. Ill Wind
  3. In A Sentimental Mood
  4. Brownsburg Blues
  5. Corcovado

Recorded at The Audio City Studio in Tokyo on August 29th, 2008.

Customers Also Like