Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis with Shirley Scott Cookin' with Jaws and the Queen 180g 4LP Box Set

Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g 4LP Box Set!
Limited to 5,000 Copies Worldwide!
Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by Bernie Grundman!
Pressed at RTI!

Analog Planet Rated 9/10 Music, 9/10 Sonics!

Released to celebrate tenor jazz saxophonist Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis' centennial, this package brings together the albums Cookbook, Vol. 1, Cookbook, Vol. 2, Cookbook, Vol. 3, & Smokin', which he recorded with organist Shirley Scott.

Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI and newly remastered from the original analog tapes by Bernie Grundman, the package also features new liner notes by journalist Willard Jenkins.

Recorded across three 1958 sessions at Rudy Van Gelder's studio in New Jersey, the four albums remastered and re-pressed for this set are ideal representatives for what we call soul-jazz, that joyous and funky combination that brought together the improvisational freedom of the latter genre with the swinging grooves of the former. These records are also prime examples of the musical conflagrations that can be created by putting two strong artistic personalities in a studio together. That's why tenor saxophonist Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis and organist Shirley Scott get top billing on the album sleeves. They take up that much real estate on these recordings. The two are responsible for the bulk of the compositions here, either on their own or co-writing them together. Those co-writes, released on Cookbook, Vol. 2 and Smokin', are the highlights of this collection, as the pair engage in some melodic tussling on the electrifying 'Jaws' and a slow tango on the sultry 'Skillet.' Davis opens up in a way he rarely did when working with Scott as he reached for some ineffable expression of joy or sexual longing or despair in his playing. Scott nudged him long throughout with chords and solos that encouraged or dared to push back on Davis. The middle ground between the two is taken up by equally fine players, especially Jerome Richardson who adds a nice timbral balance with his flute and occasional baritone sax. Everyone cooks, but it's Richardson who keeps the temperature steady and even.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine
I am enjoying listening to this collection so much that I am now seriously considering purging most of my original mono pressings — though I would hold on to the alternate cover version of Vol. 1 — because I question whether I'll be listening to them again. Regardless, the collection is a fun box set to listen to, and ultimately a solid value. If you've been seeking stereo editions of any or all of this Cookbook music most especially, you'll probably want to grab a copy of the box set for yourself, post-haste.
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 9/10, Sound 9/10


  • Limited Edition - 5,000 Copies Worldwide
  • 4LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by Bernie Grundman
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Released in Celebration of Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis' Centennial
  • Includes: The Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis Cookbook, Vol. 1 (1958), The Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis Cookbook, Vol. 2 (1959), The Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis Cookbook, Vol. 3 (with Shirley Scott) [1961] & Smokin' (with Shirley Scott) [1963]
  • Tip-On Jackets
  • Slipcase
  • 20-Page Book
  • New Liner Notes by Journalist Willard Jenkins


George Duvivier bass
Arthur Edgehill drums
Jerome Richardson flute, tenor saxophone (Vol. 1 & 3; Smokin'), baritone saxophone (Vol. 3; Smokin')
Shirley Scott organ
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis tenor saxophone


First Course - Cookbook, Vol. 1

Side A:
  1. Have Horn, Will Blow
  2. The Chef
  3. But Beautiful
Side B:
  1. In The Kitchen
  2. Three Deuces

Second Course - Cookbook, Vol. 2

Side A:
  1. The Rev
  2. Stardust
Side B:
  1. Skillet
  2. I Surrender Dear
  3. The Broilers

Third Course - Cookbook, Vol. 3

Side A:
  1. I'm Just A Lucky So And So
  2. Heat 'N' Serve
  3. My Old Flame
Side B:
  1. The Goose Hangs High
  2. Simmerin'
  3. Strike Up The Band

Fourth Course - Smokin'

Side A:
  1. High Fry
  2. Smoke This
  3. Pennies From Heaven
Side B:
  1. Pots And Pans
  2. Jaws
  3. It's A Blue World
  4. Blue Lou

Customers Also Like