Genre: Jazz
Label: Svart Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Edward Vesala I'm Here LP

Edward Vesala

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming November 25, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Rare 1973 Jazz Album from Finnish Drummer Edward Vesala.
First Time on Vinyl Since 1973!
Limited to Only 500 Copies!

Drummer and composer Edward Vesala, the most internationally renowned jazz musician from Finland, was very keen on percussion instruments. Oddly enough, this broad and enduring interest is hardly evident on his albums. Whether playing on his own albums or contributing to other musicians' work, Vesala played a standard drum kit most of the time. He hardly used external percussionists on his own albums either. And most of all: his music was almost never percussive, at least in the traditional manner.

Perhaps even stranger is the fact that he barely played any drum solos on his own albums. That's why I'm Here (Blue Master Special, SPEL 311, 1973), recorded in Helsinki in 1973, is such a rarity. Of course, being a limited release has also made it an expensive treasure among collectors. Additionally, I'm Here is Vesala's only solo album and only percussive album, and one of the few where he can be said to play drum solos, albeit in his own idiosyncratic way...

The idea of a jazz drummer making a solo album was in itself quite rare in 1973, although not entirely unheard of. Frenchman Pierre Favre had already made two solo albums (in 1970 and 1972), and Dutchman Han Bennink and Swede Sven-Åke Johansson one each, both recorded in 1972. It wasn't exactly Vesala's first time either. He had already played drums alone on the second side of the album Yksi, kaksi, kolme, neljä soul jumppaa (One, two, tree, four soul gymnastics, Gross Records, GRLP-27, 1969), though for purely instructive purposes, showcasing different rhythms and tempos.

"My favorite music is so called 'free' or very modern music (classical, as well as jazz). But 'cause of a very little jazz audience in Finland, I'm playing also pop-jazz to get bread," Vesala introduced himself with a self-written English text, almost as if foreshadowing the diverse solo album I'm Here.

Compared to other releases of its time, the album was indeed "free or very modern music," which may be the reason why it didn't make a significant mark on the music scene or significantly benefit Vesala's career at the time. Lauri Karvonen, a jazz critic of the largest Finnish newspaper, described Vesala's album as "certainly uncommercial" (Helsingin Sanomat, 8th of December, 1974). At the same time, he was delighted that "the most controversial contemporary jazz musician from Finland" has, "after years of prostituting (pop music, schlager), been able to completely dedicate himself to his own music." "The man is doing what he wants," Karvonen summarizes.

Now, after being re-released, I'm Here can be appreciated for its manifesto-like and almost documentary nature. The album can be valued as a greatly interesting peek into Edward Vesala's preferences and efforts in 1973, when he was still looking for his "own thing." The reissue comes on vinyl only and is limited to 500 copies. The release comes with extensive liner notes by jazz critic Harri Uusitorppa.


  • Limited Edition - 500 Copies
  • First Time on Vinyl Since 1973
  • Extensive Liner Notes by Jazz Critic Harri Uusitorppa


Edward Vesala drums, percussion, gong, cymbal, xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, chimes, sitar


Side A:

  1. I'm Here
  2. Ho Ping (Peace)
  3. M.M.M.
  4. But We Didn't Get the Fox
  5. Natural Rock Formation in the Harbor
  6. Byågz
  7. One for the Road
  8. Sinathropus
  9. For You Who Bring Flowers and Love in My Lonesome Bared Nest
  10. K. WN. V. H.

Side B:

  1. Homage to Jan Garbarek
  2. A Day of Life
  3. Minttu
  4. Uhuru
  5. Palkin kutsu
  6. Murli Manohar
  7. Whispering
  8. "Tra-dri, Them-pa"
  9. Puro - Rivulet

Customers Also Like