Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Mercury
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Elton John Honky Chateau (50th Anniversary) 180g 2LP

Elton John

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Includes Outtakes from the Original Session Tapes!
Features the Elton John Classics "Rocket Man" & "Honky Cat"!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 251/500!

Analog Planet Rated 9/10 Music, 9/10 Sonics!

Released in May 1972, Honky Chateau is the fifth studio album by Elton John, which includes singles "Rocket Man" and "Honky Cat." Named after the eighteenth-century Château d'Herouville outside Paris where it was recorded, this 50th anniversary edition contains the original album and a newly created selection of outtakes from the original session tapes. Includes an eight-page booklet containing rare photos, memorabilia and an essay featuring interviews from those who were there at the time.

If you love the album and have played out your old U.S. copy — on either UNI or those later, inferior pressings on MCA — this new UMC edition will no doubt be a major improvement. Even if you have an original UK copy of Honky Château, chances are you will want this version for the bonus session outtakes alone. Either way, the $37.99 SRP seems like a very fair deal to me — and a great way to celebrate such a wonderful, career-making album.
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 9/10, Sound 9/10


  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Original Honky Chateau Album - 2017 Remaster
  • Outtakes from the Original Session Tapes
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Eight-Page Booklet with New Sleeve Notes & Rare Photos
  • Made in Germany


LP One - Original Album

  1. Honkey Cat
  2. Mellow
  3. I Think I'm Going to Kill Myself
  4. Susie (Dramas)
  5. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going to Be a Long, Long Time)
  6. Salvation
  7. Slave
  8. Amy
  9. Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters
  10. Hercules

LP Two - Honky at the Château (Session Demos)

  1. Salvation
  2. Susie (Dramas)
  3. Rocket Man (I think it's going to be a long, long time)
  4. Mellow
  5. Slave (Alternate "Fast" Version)
  6. Honky Cat
  7. I Think I'm Going to Kill Myself
  8. Hercules
  9. Slave

Customers Also Like