Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Elvis Costello & Burt Bacharach The Songs of Bacharach & Costello 2LP

Elvis Costello & Burt Bacharach

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Analog Planet Rated 10/10 Music, 9/10 Sonics!

TAS Rated 4.5/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the May/June 2023 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Painted from Memory + Newly Recorded Bacharach & Costello Songs on 2LP!
A Three-Decade-Long Songwriting Partnership Celebrated!
Audio Remastered by Bob Ludwig from the Original Tapes!
Includes 3 Previously Unreleased Performances!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

The Songs of Bacharach & Costello, compiled by Elvis Costello, brings together the published songs that Costello has written with Burt Bacharach and celebrates the three-decade songwriting partnership between them. The 2LP set includes the newly remastered album Painted from Memory and six songs from Taken from Life, of which three are newly recorded compositions. The LPs are pressed on 140g vinyl and audio was remastered by Bob Ludwig from the original tapes.

If you are a fan of Painted From Memory, you need to get The Songs of Bacharach & Costello, whichever edition your wallet will allow. You and your ears will be more than glad you did.
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 10/10, Sound 9/10
'In Bacharach, Costello has found his most empathetic sidekick yet,' Rolling Stone opined in 1998.The fact that these recordings hold up so well speaks volumes about the rewards of their partnership.
-Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, May/June 2023, Music 4.5/5, Sonics 4.5/5


  • Double LP
  • 140g Vinyl
  • Compiled by Elvis Costello
  • Audio Remastered by Bob Ludwig from the Original Tapes
  • Painted from Memory Album (1998) - Newly Remastered
  • 3 Newly Recorded Bacharach & Costello Songs: "Taken from Life" by Elvis Costello & The Imposters; "You Can Have Her" & "Look Up Again" Sung by Elvis Costello orchestrated by Vince Mendoza & Recorded Under the Direction of Burt Bacharach
  • 3 Previously Unreleased Performances: "Don't Look Now" Sung by Audra Mae & John Pagano; "I Looked Away" & "What's Her Name Today?" Sung by Audra Mae with Pianist Jim Cox
  • Gatefold Jacket


Painted from Memory

  1. In the Darkest Place
  2. Toledo
  3. I Still Have That Other Girl
  4. This House Is Empty Now
  5. Tears at the Birthday Party
  6. Such Unlikely Lovers
  7. My Thief
  8. The Long Division
  9. Painted from Memory
  10. The Sweetest Punch
  11. What's Her Name Today?
  12. God Give Me Strength

Songs from Taken from Life

  1. You Can Have Her - Elvis Costello
  2. Don't Look Now - Audra Mae & John Pagano
  3. I Looked Away - Audra Mae
  4. Taken from Life - Elvis Costello & The Imposters
  5. What's Her Name Today? - Audra Mae
  6. Look Up Again - Elvis Costello

Customers Also Like