Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Emily Kinney The Supporting Character LP

Emily Kinney

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming May 21, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Vinyl LP From Emily Kinney (Of The Walking Dead)!

Jullian Records and actress/singer-songwriter Emily Kinney (The Walking Dead, Showtime's Masters of Sex, ABC's Ten Days In The Valley) are excited to announce the Friday, April 9 release of Kinney's brand new full-length album titled The Supporting Character.

Staying busy this past year, Kinney took advantage of 2020's endless days of social distancing and time at home to finish up one of her most personal albums to date. Produced by Benjamin Greenspan, The Supporting Character touches on themes of heartbreak, loss, family history, creativity and personal growth, and finds Kinney tackling difficult subjects with her trademark lyrical honesty.

Released today and streaming with Entertainment Weekly, the album's new single, "Fifteen Minutes," is a love-turned-breakup song Kinney wrote for her boyfriend at the time that explains how she would easily trade the time she spent becoming successful for more time with the person she really loves (him). "He said he didn't get it. We broke up," she says. Though some relationships inevitably end, Kinney finds comfort in the fact that each relationship of hers has solidified her sense of independence and has confirmed the aspects of her romantic life that are truly important to her. "I've observed people who constantly struggle and who are addicted to ups and downs and conflict, whereas I know that I seek stability."

While fans may still know her best from her TV and stage work, Emily Kinney's career as a musician has always run parallel to her career as an actress. When listening to her expansive discography, from early releases such as Blue Toothbrush to 2018's Oh Jonathan, Kinney's growth as a songwriter and artist is clearly evident. Her forthcoming album, The Supporting Character, continues in this vein, highlighting her maturity as a musician while also shining a light on the aspects of her life that she is still learning to navigate.

Living in LA, for example, has always come with its own set of challenges. "It's tempting to compare my progress to others, especially in a city like LA where so many people are doing so many cool things," she says. "When The Midnight Fireworks Start" delves into this tendency to compare and sees Kinney evaluate her own creative practice as well. "That song really explores the fact that I know that I work and develop slowly," she continues. "I tend to chip away at things bit by bit, but I still have a feeling that I'm on the right path and something special is going to happen with my creative endeavors in the future."

Other noteworthy songs on The Supporting Character include "Omaha Hotel," the album's title track and "Genetic Makeup," a trio of songs that touch on family history and the importance of maintaining a strong connection to the people who know her best. "'The Supporting Character," for example, was written after a weekend with my dad in San Diego, pre-COVID," she says. "I drove home on the 5 and remembered thinking that I was a part of something much bigger than myself. Life is really magical and goes by so fast and I realized that I want to spend more time with my family and friends and less time chasing my career."

In addition to songs related to family ties and grief, Kinney also includes a brutally honest track about her struggle with body image and the pressure that women - especially women in the public eye - face to be thin. "Obviously being an actor, I'm constantly aware of my size and how I look and some days I regret the amount of time I spend thinking about it," she says of the song "Skinny." "The chorus talks about how I used to think that when you're smaller you're doing better, but I've realized that I'm my skinniest when I'm doing the worst, emotionally."

With several albums under her belt and with more songs always on the way, Kinney is a prolific writer and an unstoppable force. Her heartfelt lyrics and arresting melodies are on full display on The Supporting Character - a captivating album from an artist who shows no signs of slowing down.


  • Vinyl LP


  1. Omaha Hotel
  2. When The Midnight Fireworks Start
  3. Easy
  4. Cadillac
  5. Skinny
  6. Genetic Makeup
  7. I Went Looking For You
  8. The Supporting Character
  9. Fifteen Minutes

Customers Also Like