Emmylou Harris And The Nash Ramblers Ramble In Music City: The Lost Concert (1990) 2LP

Emmylou Harris And The Nash Ramblers

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1990 Nashville Debut Of Acoustic All-Star Group On Double LP!
Previously Unreleased!
Entirely Different Songs From Their Acclaimed 'At The Ryman'!

After fifteen years of touring with the beloved Hot Band, Emmylou Harris formed the Nash Ramblers, a new acoustic all-star group, in 1990, featuring Sam Bush (fiddle, mandolin, vocals), Roy Huskey Jr. (bass), Larry Atamanuik (drums), Al Perkins (dobro, banjo, vocals), and Jon Randall Stewart (acoustic guitar, mandolin, vocals).

The band played on the road for several months before making their Nashville debut at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center (TPAC) on September 28, 1990. That concert was recorded and shelved, while another live run at the Ryman Auditorium the following spring was released as Emmylou Harris and the Nash Ramblers At the Ryman to great acclaim, winning a Grammy and spurring public interest in saving the beloved music hall.

Now, more than thirty years later, Rhino's James Austin has unearthed the 1990 TPAC recording and Nonesuch releases Ramble in Music City: The Lost Concert for the first time on September 3, 2021. The TPAC set features entirely different songs from the Ryman album and includes music by A.P. Carter, Rodney Crowell, Ruth Franks, the Louvin Brothers, Doc Pomus and Mort Shuman, Paul Simon, and Townes Van Zandt, among others, as well as her own compositions.

Harris says of Ramble in Music City: "When James Austin, in my humble opinion, the world's best and certainly most devoted music archeologist, unearthed the tapes of this 'lost' concert, I was taken aback by their very existence, like finding some cherished photograph misplaced so long ago the captured moment had been forgotten. Then the memories came flooding in, of the Nash Ramblers, hot off the road from our first tour, ready to rock and bringing their usual A-game to the hometown turf.

"It only took one listen to realize not a single note was out of place or in need of repair, a truly extraordinary performance by these gifted musicians. What a joy it was to share the stage with them."

A thirteen-time Grammy winner and Billboard Century Award recipient, Emmylou Harris' contribution as a singer and songwriter spans six decades. She has recorded more than thirty albums and has also contributed to countless fellow artists' recordings. In recognition of her remarkable career, Harris was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2008. Her most recent new release, a collaboration with Rodney Crowell, The Traveling Kind, followed the longtime friends' first duet album, Old Yellow Moon, which won a Best Americana Album Grammy Awards as well as two Americana Music Association Awards, for Album of the Year and Duo/Group of the Year.

"Like finding some cherished photograph misplaced so long ago the captured moment had been forgotten...The Nash Ramblers, hot off the road from our first tour, ready to rock and bringing their usual 'A' game to the hometown turf!" - from liner note by Emmylou Harris


  • Double LP
  • Previously unreleased
  • Live at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center, September 1990
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in Germany


Emmylou Harris acoustic guitar, vocals
Sam Bush fiddle, mandolin, vocals
Roy Huskey Jr. bass
Larry Atamanuik drums
Al Perkins dobro, banjo, vocals
Jon Randall Stewart acoustic guitar, mandolin, vocals


Side A:

  1. Roses In The Snow
  2. Even Cowgirls Get The Blues
  3. Beneath Still Waters
  4. If I Could Only Win Your Love
  5. Amarillo
  6. The Other Side Of Life

Side B:

  1. If I Needed You
  2. Two More Bottles Of Wine
  3. Mystery Train
  4. My Songbird
  5. Wayfaring Stranger
  6. Green Pastures

Side C:

  1. Blue Kentucky Girl
  2. Hello Stranger
  3. Remington Ride
  4. One Of These Days
  5. The Boxer
  6. Born To Run

Side D:

  1. The Price I Pay
  2. Sweet Dreams
  3. Save The Last Dance For Me
  4. Leaving Louisiana In The Broad Daylight
  5. Boulder To Birmingham

Customers Also Like