Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Eric Alexander Gentle Ballads Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Eric Alexander

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

First Entry in Renowned "Gentle Ballads" Series!

One of the most talented tenor saxophonists today, Eric Alexander has made quite a few recordings for the Japanese label Venus Records, but this 2004 date, a collection of ballads in a one-horn quartet format, is undoubtedly one of his definitive albums.

His warm and muscular tone captivates the listener from the first note of the opening number "Midnight Sun Will Never Set." His tender original "Gently" has such a lovely melody you could mistake it for one of the established standards.

While all songs are considered as "ballads," the program is sufficiently varied in rhythm, tempo and tone so that one does not need to worry about monotony. Alexander's burnished tenor sound is very well recorded and gives you a perspective of a first-row table in an intimate jazz club setting.

"His rich, big-toned tenor is rhapsodic as he explores a number of timeless ballads..." -Ken Dryden,

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Eric Alexander, tenor sax
Mike LeDonne, piano
John Webber, bass
Joe Farnsworth, drums

1. The Midnight Sun Will Never Set
2. Left Alone
3. Gently
4. Here's To Life
5. Midnight Sun
6. Harlem Nocturne
7. Soul Eyes
8. Under A Blanket Of Blue
9. Stormy Weather
10. Chelsea Bridge
11. Harlem Nocturne II

Customers Also Like