Ernest Ansermet The Royal Ballet Gala Performances Hybrid Stereo 2SACD & Booklet Box Set

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Remastered by Willem Makkee!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

RCA Living Stereo — the gold standard for top quality orchestral performance and sound!

In the hearts of thousands, No. 1 on the Top RCA list. While the bulk of Ansermet's recordings were made with L'Orchestre de la Susise Romande, there were a few with the Paris Conservatoire Orchestra and the very occasional foray into recordings with London orchestras, one of these being with the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, in 1959.

Audiophilia Online Magazine wrote: "This is the stuff of which dreams are made. The Royal Ballet Gala is one of the finest RCAs recorded in London's Kingsway Hall. The chunks of great ballet music are well served by orchestra, conductor and engineer. Performances are executed to a very high standard - the Royal Opera House Orchestra, both then and now, rank as one of the finest of opera orchestras.

"Conductor Ansermet keeps the pace moving, giving the listener the impression of a dance event rather than a dramatic concert hall reading. With the exception of some of the Tchaikovsky scenes, the music is light and remains so under Ansermet's gentle touch. Each ballet is given full attention by the players, something not always attained at Covent Garden during long ballet nights! The threat of eternity does have it's merits. The recorded sound is simply amazing! Lustrous is one word that comes to mind, accurate is another.

"Tonally, Messrs. Williamson and Wilkinson have used their considerable talents to capture the orchestra superbly. Woodwind and strings glow and resonate, transporting this listener to a time when simpler recording was better. Brass ring out thrillingly and percussion effects are very musical. Be it a bang, swish, rattle, crack or snap, each percussionist is situated perfectly within the beautiful Kingsway soundstage. Even the difficult-to-record sound of the celeste is captured in it's purely mechanical form. It's delicate sound is heard to great effect during the Nutcracker - originating stage left, the sound decays across the stage of Kingsway with sparkling beauty. Wonderful."

Producer: Michael Williamson
Engineer Kenneth Wilkinson

• Two-Disc
• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Mastered by Willem Makkee
• Includes Booklet

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden
Ernest Ansermet, conductor

Disc One:
The Nutcracker Suite

1. March
2. Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy
3. Arabian Dance (Coffee)
4. Chinese Dance (Tea)
5. Dance Of The Toy Flutes
6. Waltz Of The Flowers
La Boutique Fantasque
7. Tarantella
8. Andante mosso
9. Can-can
10. Act I: Prelude - Allegro Marcato And Mazurka
11. Introduction - Andante And Waltz
12. Czardas
13. Act II: Valse De La Poupee
14. Act I: Introduction And Waltz
15. Act II: Pas De Deux And Variation

Disc Two:
Swan Lake

1. Act II: Scene (Moderato)
2. Dance Of The Little Swans (Moderato)
3. Scene - Pas De Deux
4. Waltz
5. Pierrot
6. Reconnaissance
7. Aveu
8. Pantalon Et Columbine
The Sleeping Beauty
9. Introduction: Prologue - The Lilac Fairy
10. Act I: Rose Adagio - Pas d'Action
11. Waltz
Les Sylphides
12. Overture: Prelude In A Major, Op. 28, No. 7
13. Mazurka In C Major, Op. 67, No. 3
14. Grande Valse Brillante In E Flat, Op. 18

Customers Also Like