Genre: Jazz
Label: Concord
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Esperanza Spalding Emily's D+Evolution 180g LP

Esperanza Spalding

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
5th Studio Album on 180g Vinyl LP!

Esperanza Spalding’s new project Emily’s D+Evolution is a fresh artistic vision for the 4-time GRAMMY winner, a daring tapestry of music, vibrant imagery, performance art and stage design. Co-produced by Esperanza and Tony Visconti (David Bowie), the album is an electrifying take on the power trio adorned with backing singers and touches of synthesizer, "as if to fly the pirate flag of the Black Rock Coalition” according to The New York Times. Esperanza assembled a new band for Emily’s D+Evolution including guitarist Matthew Stevens (Christian Scott) and drummer Karriem Riggins (Madlib, Erykah Badu). She recorded some of the album’s eleven tracks in front of a small audience in a Los Angeles studio. The result is otherworldly cosmic soul, kinetic songs that burst with energy and life. Album opener "Good Lava” offers a grand salvo: sinewy riffs doubled on electric bass and distorted guitar with melodies that stick and float across registers.

As a child, Esperanza was called Emily, which was her middle name. With Emily's D+Evolution, Esperanza explores ideas that she was curious about as a child.

"This outing finds the New York native adding funk, prog-rock, and art-pop to her kitbag. The sometimes hard-edged, jagged rhythms on this disc buoy lyrics that tackle such lofty social issues as racism, sexism, and Guantanamo." - Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, 3.5/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics

• 180g Vinyl LP
• Download Card
• Gatefold Jacket

Side A:

1. Good Lava
2. Unconditional Love
3. Judas
4. Earth to Heaven
5. One
6. Rest In Pleasure

Side B:
1. Ebony and Ivy
2. Noble Nobles
3. Farewell Dolly
4. Elevate Or Operate
5. Funk the Fear
6. I Want It Now

Customers Also Like