Genre: Jazz
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Etta James Etta James 180g LP (Mono)

Etta James

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180 Gram Vinyl! One of the Most Fabulous and Respected Figures in the History of R&B Music! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Etta James' self-titled album contains the song "Dance With Me Henry" which she co-wrote along with Johnny Otis and Hank Ballard as an answer song to the Hank Ballard tune "Work With me Annie". The song is also known as "The Wallflower (Dance With Me Henry)" or "Roll With Me Henry". The 1955 song was covered for the pop market by Georgia Gibbs titled as "Dance With Me Henry". In 2008, Etta James received a Grammy Hall of Fame Award for her 1955 recording of the song.

Etta James is one of the most fabulous and respected figures in the history of R&B music. Here are some of Miss Peaches’ legendary pre-Chess recordings including the first session, cut on Thanksgiving Eve 1954, when she was just 16, which yielded “Roll With Me, Henry”.

"Jean Mitchell and her sister Abbysinia came from New Orleans and were Creole-looking people," wrote our subject in her autobiography. "Jean was my age; Abbye was eight or nine years older. Jean and I started singing together. Soon Abbye joined in and, just like that, we became the Creolettes. We were project girls imitating the young rhythm and blues of the time. Mainly, though, we were intrigued with vocal harmony. We developed a tight three-way blend, imitating groups like the Spaniels, the Swallows, the Chords and the Spiders. One afternoon the Creolettes were singing at a record hop when who should show up but Hank Ballard and his superfine Midnighters. We were thrilled. When they heard us sing, they said something encouraging and, man, that’s all we needed to hear. When they sang "Work With Me, Annie", the place went wild. Next day the song was still on my mind. Answer songs were big back then, and then it occurred to me – why not answer Hank’s hit? I liked doing spunky shit. So I wrote "Roll With Me, Henry", a pushy little jiveass reply."

That blockbuster initiation was produced by the fabled Johnny Otis, the hipster also responsible for renaming Ms H and her gal pals Etta James and the Peaches: "The Peaches were pissed because I was getting the glory, but I was even more pissed than the Peaches because Georgia Gibbs came out with her Suzy Creamcheese version. I was happy to have any success, but I was enraged to see Her Nibbs singing the song on the Ed Sullivan Show while I was singing it in some funky dive in Watts." Providing the voice of “Henry” on Etta’s original was Richard Berry, who went on to sing on and write many other songs for her, some of which, like "Good Rockin’ Daddy", also feature back-ups by those fabulous chicks, the Dreamers.

Not only has Etta James made some wonderful records in her illustrious career , she has also authored the brilliant autobiography "Rage To Survive", from which all of the above quotations are borrowed.

Recording: 1954-56 in Los Angeles

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Limited Edition
• Mono
• Re-mastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London

Side A:
1. Good Rockin' Daddy
2. Hey Henry
3. Strange Things
4. That's All
5. I'm A Fool
Side B:
1. Dance With Me Henry
2. Do Something Crazy
3. Women
4. My One And Only
5. I Hope Your Satisfied

Customers Also Like