Genre: Folk
Label: Hoxa
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Folkal Point Folkal Point Import LP

Folkal Point

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Release Date To Be Announced pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Limited Collector's Edition Reissued On Vinyl LP - Only 500 Copies!
Acoustic Other-Worldliness & Haunting Female Vocals!
Includes Bonus Track "The Virgin Mary"!

Lost in fire and flood and remastered from original vinyl now fetching as much as $1,416, FOLKAL POINT (the official release, and the only one with the BONUS TRACK) represents a moment in time, captured for all time. Only 250 of the original available ever, only 500 of this special edition. And now, this self-titled album, from its somewhat obscure origins rises again, through the determination and meticulous work carried out by Hoxa Sound and The Vinyl Factory. That original sense of ambition is now a collective sense of satisfaction.

The recording of this album did constitute a milestone in the career of FOLKAL POINT but not one that could ever have been anticipated. And what was achieved in that relatively brief period of the early 1970s has truly lasted a lifetime. FOLKAL POINT is a diverse, yet well balanced, collection of folk music stretching from a dark other-worldly place to a more enlightened modern time. The unique arrangements of these songs performed by FOLKAL POINT are by Alan Green. The musicians: Cherie Musialik - vocals; Stuart Amesbury - guitar and vocals; Mark Steed - guitar, banjo and backing vocals; Paul Cook guitar, bass guitar and backing vocals.

Originally published on the now dissolved UK based Midas Recordings label the album is neither groundbreaking in its musical direction nor contains any of the artists' original material. What it does have however, is an acoustic other-worldliness which differentiates it from other artists of the time, giving the listener the feel good factor of being in the depths of Folkal Point's enchanted forest. Combine all this with haunting female vocals and precision guitar playing and you have what can only be described as a truly outstanding collection of tracks from one of Bristol's finest and best kept musical secrets.

It could be rare because there aren't many, but scarcity is no reason for value. It is rare because people above all love the music, now again for everyone to share

• Limited Collector's Edition - Only 500 Copies
• Vinyl LP
• Remastered from original vinyl
• Printed inner sleeve
• Bonus track
• Import

Side A:

1. Twelve Gates Into The City
2. Scarborough Fair
3. Sweet Sir Galahad
4. Lovely Joan
5. Circle Game
6. Cookoo's Hollerin'
Side B:
1. Edom O'Gordon
2. Victoria Dines Alone
3. You Ain't Going Nowhere
4. Anathea
5. National Seven
6. Once I Knew A Pretty Girl
7. The Virgin Mary

Customers Also Like