Genre: Jazz
Label: Evosound
Additional Artists: El DeBarge


Fourplay Fourplay (30th Anniversary Edition) Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

30th Anniversary Edition Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD!
Mastered In DSD Using The Original Master Tapes!

There was no great cunning master plan that brought noted jazz instrumentalists Bob James (keyboards), Lee Ritenour (guitar), Nathan Eat (bass) and Harvey Mason (drums) together to form a supergroup. Released in October 1991, Fourplay - aided by the success of the smash single "After The Dance" - peaked at No. 1 in America's Contemporary Jazz charts for 33 weeks and sold over a million copies. It rose to No.16 in the R&B rankings and No.97 in America's list of top pop records. Now three decades old, the band's self-titled debut album, was not only the blueprint for the group's sound but also functioned as a foundation stone upon which Fourplay built a remarkable career.

Originally released in September 1991, Fourplay is now reissued by Evosound, to celebrate the album's 30th anniversary, as a multi-channel hybrid SACD including a 5.1 surround mix. A previously unreleased long version of "After The Dance" is included as a bonus track only available in stereo. The remastering of the album was undertaken using the high-resolution digital transfers from the original analogue master tapes. The hybrid multi-channel SACD plays on both SACD and regular CD players.


  • 30th Anniversary Edition
  • Super Audio CD
  • Multi-Channel SACD Layer
  • Stereo SACD Layer
  • 5.1 Surround Mix
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Mastered in DSD using Original Master Tapes
  • Previously Unreleased Bonus Track on Stereo Layer only


Bob James keyboards
Lee Rittenour guitar
Nathan Eat bass
Harvey Mason drums
El DeBarge lead vocal on "After The Dance"


  1. Bali Run
  2. 101 Eastbound
  3. Foreplay
  4. Moonjogger
  5. Max-O-Man
  6. After The Dance (Lead Vocal: El DeBarge)
  7. Quadrille
  8. Midnight Stroll
  9. October Morning
  10. Wish You Were Here
  11. Rain Forest
  12. After The Dance [Long Version] (Lead Vocal: El DeBarge) - Stereo Layer Only

Customers Also Like