Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Ingrid Mansfield Allman
Format: 33RPM,


Freeez & John Rocca Southern Freeez/Variations On A Theeem 2LP (Blue/Black Marbled Vinyl)

Freeez & John Rocca

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming August 21, 2020 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Classic Debut Album On Double LP With New Works by John Rocca!
Remastered & Pressed On Blue/Black Marbled Vinyl!

Freeez were a legendary group from London, known as one of the UK's main jazz-funk bands of the early 1980s...aka Brit funk. Led by John Rocca, Freeez consisted of various musicians, originally with Rocca and others including Andy Stennett (keyboards), Peter Maas (bass guitar) and Paul Morgan (drums). While they may not be a household name, if you know, you know. Freeez went on to be sampled many times, by artists including Jamie xx, Coolio, Brandy, Madlib and more.

Their debut album Southern Freeez was initially released in late 1980 on John Rocca's own label Pink Rythm, but within weeks, they were signed by Beggars Banquet, who re-released it in 1981. The album contains the hit song "Southern Freeez" which included guest vocals by Ingrid Mansfield Allman.

A few years later, they had even more hits. Their biggest, "IOU", was a global #1 club single and was produced and written by renowned producer Arthur Baker with lyric contributions and lead vocals by John Rocca and remixed by Jellybean Benitez and Baker. In 1983, "IOU" was a #1 Billboard Club Play hit in addition to spending 3 weeks at #2 on the UK pop charts and was also used in the legendary breakdancing movie Beat Street. "Pop Goes My Love" was another hit. Rocca next had another #1 US Billboard Club Play hit as a solo artist in 1984 with "I Want It To Be Real", and his solo work under the pseudonym Midi Rain reached cult status and led to yet another #1 US Billboard Club Play dance floor hit with "Shine" in 1993.

After his departure from the music business in the early '90s, he became an IT professional and director at a highly successful technology startup as part of what would become the mobile phone revolution.

40 years after the original release of Southern Freeez, after being contacted by Beggars Arkive about a reissue, John was inspired to go back to his roots. He pulled together some of the work that he had been experimenting with over the years and enlisted some musicians (including his two nephews) to play on the tracks, saying that doing so "was a nice reflection of the past meeting the present". John has also re-recorded a new version of "Southern Freeez" on the second LP which he does the vocals on. The album cover features award-winning Arctic photography by Florian Ledoux.

Southern Freeez has been remastered and is pressed on blue/black marbled vinyl.

The melancholic suburban soul of 'Southern Freeez' never gets tired for album that has remained at the top of my Brit Funk pile!
-Gilles Peterson


  • Double LP
  • Blue/Black Marble Vinyl
  • Original album remastered
  • Second LP contains brand new tracks from the band's leader John Rocca
  • Cover features award-winning Arctic photography by Florian Ledoux


LP 1 - Freeez - Southern Freeez

Side A:
  1. Mariposa
  2. Caribbean Winter
  3. Easy On The Onions
  4. Sunset
Side B:
  1. Flying High
  2. Southern Freeez
  3. Roller Chase
  4. First Love
  5. Finale

LP 2 - John Rocca

Side A:
  1. Southern Freeez 20+20
  2. Feeel The Music
  3. Simple Breeez
Side B:
  1. My Name Is Love Part 1 + Part 2
  2. Slow Down (ordinary dawn)
  3. Rain

Customers Also Like