Genre: Classical
Label: King
Additional Artists: Harmon Lewis
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Gary Karr Arpeggione Sonata 180g Import LP

Gary Karr

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
All Analogue AAA Recording! Mastered by Kevin Gray from the Original Analogue Tapes & Pressed at Pallas in Germany on 180g Vinyl!

This release features Gary Karr performing with Harmon Lewis on piano for a group of classical pieces, folk songs, and carols by Schubert, Rachmaninoff, Saint-Saens, and more.

Although it features Schubert's "Arpeggione Sonata", the gem on this recording is a Canadian folksong, "When I Wake Up in the Morning." It has been a staple encore piece of the Karr/Lewis Duo for 30 years since they lived in Nova Scotia.

Gary Karr, acclaimed as "the world's leading solo bassist" (Time Magazine), is, in fact, the first solo doublebassist in history to make that pursuit a full-time career. It is a career that adds new lustre to his already lustrous 1611 Amati doublebass which was given to him by the widow of Serge Koussevitzky.

Since his debut with Leonard Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic in 1962, Karr has performed as soloist on six continents with orchestras, including the Chicago Symphony, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Montreal Symphony, Simon Bolivar Orchestra (Caracas, Venezuela), Jerusalem Symphony, Oslo Philharmonic, Zurich Chamber Orchestra, and with all the major orchestras of Australia.

• All Analogue AAA Recording
• Audiophile analogue mastering by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Pressed at Pallas GmbH Germany on 180g audiophile virgin vinyl
• Full analogue products used during entire mastering process
• Full analogue mastering from the original master tapes of King Record

Side One:
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Arpeggione Sonata

1. 1st Mov.: Allegro moderato
2. 2nd Mov.: Adagio
3. 3rd Mov.: Allegretto
Side Two:
Segei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)

1. Vocalise, Op.34 No.14

Camille Saint-Saens (1835-1921)
2. Le Cygne

Scott Joplin (1867-1917)
3. The Entertainer

Rentaro Taki (1879-1903)
4. Kojo No Tsuki

5. When I Wake Up In The Morning

Three Catalonian Carols
6. El Noi De La Mare
7. Fum, Fum, Fum
8. El Cant Dels Ocells

Customers Also Like