George Duke Liberated Fantasies 180g LP

George Duke

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180 Gram Pressing! Analogue Remastering (AAA)!

The closing album in this MPS set continues George Duke's tendency to couple his fusion world with accessible R&B songs. Once again he shows a discernable vocal development. In "Tryin' And Cryin'" the Californian together with rock singer Napoleon Brock overlay multiple vocal tracks. On "Seeing You" Duke lays on a glaze of soulful tenderness, whereas "What The..." is 30 seconds of frivolous funning around. "Back to Where We Never Left" is a witty gem in which Duke bundles his pool of synthesizers into a united groove, whereas "I C'n Hear That" shows off synth and marimba tonal colors in dialogue, with the bass riffing on the bottom.

The album flows into the final bend carrying along the sonorous richness of Brazil. "After the Love" plays with the languorous erotic colors of the tropics, whereas all the band members are allowed to shine on the epic circa ten minute title track with its hot samba flair: the rhythm section with "Ndugu", Al Johnson, and Airto Moreira's percussion arsenal, Daryl Stuermer with his rock interludes on guitar, and Duke himself with inspired virtuosity on all sorts of synths and keyboards.


  • 180g Audiophile Pressing
  • Analogue Remastering (AAA)
  • Liner notes and a picture of the original master tape box
  • Made in Germany


George Duke vocals, keyboards, synthesizers
Embamba bass
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler drums, 'Roto-Toms,' vocals on "Liberated Fantasies"
Napoleon Murphy Brock lead vocals on "Tryin' & Cryin'," background vocals on "Seeing You" and "Liberated Fantasies"
Janet Ferguson Hof background vocals on "Seeing You," voice of "Amanda"
Bonnie Bowdon Amaro vocals on "After The Love" and "Liberated Fantasies"
David Amaro acoustic guitar on "After The Love"
Daryl Stuermer guitar on "Tryin' & Cryin'" and "Liberated Fantasies"
George Johnson guitar on "Don't Be Shy"
Ruth K. Underwood voice of riddle in "What The..."
Rashid Duke vocals on "What The..."
Emil Richards marimba on "I C'n Hear That"
Airto percussion on "I C'n Hear That," "After The Love" and "Liberated Fantasies"


Side One:

  1. Don't Be Shy
  2. Seeing You
  3. Back To Where We Never Left
  4. What The...
  5. Tryin' & Cryin'

Side Two:

  1. I C'n Hear That
  2. After The Love
  3. Tzina (excerpts from Act II Scene II)
  4. Liberated Fantasies

Customers Also Like