Genre: Jazz
Label: MPS Records
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: John Heard Dick Berk
Format: 33RPM,


George Duke The Inner Source 180g 2LP

George Duke

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180 Gram Pressing! Analogue Remastering (AAA)!

In 1971 George Duke, having just recently done his time with the Mothers of Invention, was engaged by the Cannonball Adderley Quintet. Beginning in April of that year, Duke made two recordings over a short timespan that on their release in 1973 as a double LP (against the desire of the artists, by the way), would be a major statement.

On Chapter One of his fusion autobiography, "Solus," Duke, along with the skeleton crew of bassist John Heard and drummer Dick Berk, tries out the new compositional philosophy he had absorbed from his work with Adderley. The album was obliged to maintain a jazzy environment, illustrated by the harmonically flowing piano improvisation on "Love Reborn" and the bop-influenced busyness of "The Followers". But the record also signifies the importance of the keyboards in all their diverse contexts - the funky rock of "Au-right," and the smoldering, dreamy feel of "Peace," for instance. And on "Manya" Duke lives it up as he shows off his exuberant experimental synth side.

"The Inner Source" continues in the same vein. "So There You Go" is a downright delightful waltz featuring e-piano, whereas "Some Time Ago" is pure tonal color and atmosphere. We find an exotic gem in "Nigerian Numberumba" in which an African Lamellophone is craftily simulated with an echoplex and ring modulator. Duke also begins to vary the lineup here. "Feels So Good" and "My Soul" are reinforced with Latin percussion, and incisive horn and reed instruments (luminaries from the Thad Jones and Santana entourages). The same with the title track, a masterstroke of quintet dramaturgy, with Duke on his first instrument, the trombone. As a curiosity, two basses compete with each other on "Twenty Five." The last piece, "Always Constant," is a more open piece that spontaneously unfolded in the studio.


  • 180g Audiophile Pressing
  • Analogue Remastering (AAA)
  • Double LP
  • Gatefold
  • Liner notes and a picture of the original master tape box
  • Made in Germany


Luis Gasca flugelhorn, trumpet
Jerome Richardson tenor & soprano saxophones, flute
Dick Berk drums, percussion
James Leary bass violin
Armando Peroza congas
George Duke piano, electric piano, keyboards, trombone
John Heard bass, electric bass, bass violin


Side One:

  1. Au Right
  2. Love Reborn
  3. Peace
  4. My Soul

Side Two:

  1. Feels So Good
  2. Manya
  3. Sweet Bite
  4. The Followers

Side Three:

  1. The Inner Source
  2. Life
  3. Some Time Ago
  4. So There You Go

Side Four:

  1. Solus
  2. Nigerian Numberuma
  3. Twenty-Five
  4. Always Constant

Customers Also Like