Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sundazed
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Graffiti Graffiti LP (Coke Clear Vinyl)


Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1968 Prog-Rock Album Pressed on Colored Vinyl LP!
Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio!
First Time on Vinyl in Over 50 Years!

A heady and adventurous experience with ever-shifting elements of jazz, fuzz guitar, blues rock and psychedelia!

Graffiti's origins can be traced back to 1967 and the dissolution of The Hangmen, a popular Washington, D.C.-area garage rock act well noted for the proto-punk stylings of their singles "What a Girl Can't Do" and "Faces." Singer Tony Taylor, a late addition to the band's lineup, recruited guitarist George Strunz to the group and soon announced the band would pursue a more psychedelic direction. It didn't take long for Graffiti to attract label attention, and by August of 1968 the band signed to ABC Records and released their debut single, "He's Got the Knack." In November of 1968 they released their one and only album.

The juxtaposition between Graffiti's smooth vocal harmonies and their intricate songwriting is stark. One moment the group is immersed in all of the feel-good pop songwriting tropes of the era, oftentimes quite reminiscent of acts like The Association and The Mamas & the Papas. Meanwhile, the next moment sees the band vamping into extended passages, odd chord sequencing, and offbeat time signatures, highlighted by Strunz's frequent fuzz-laced soloing and the energetic drumming of Richie Blakin.

The legacy of Graffiti's self-titled debut was seemingly hampered by the fact that that it is often lumped in with the plethora of other one-and-done psych releases of the time, an era in which major labels were falling over one another in an attempt to capitalize on the psychedelic sounds popularized by the Summer of Love. This is unfortunate because Graffiti's approach to songwriting and blending together of jazz, classical, and rock elements are rather groundbreaking, precursors to the arrival of progressive rock - proto-prog pioneers, if you will.


  • Coke Clear Vinyl
  • Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • First Time on Vinyl Since 1969
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • New Liner Notes by Mike Mannix
  • Pressed in the U.S.A.


  1. Father Protector
  2. The Capture of Me
  3. Life Blood
  4. Jingle Jangle Woman
  5. New Life
  6. Girl On Fire
  7. Cold Water
  8. Love In Spite
  9. Ugly Mascara

Customers Also Like