Genre: Jazz
Label: Chesky


Hank Jones, Jimmy Cobb & Christian McBride West Of 5th Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Hank Jones, Jimmy Cobb & Christian McBride

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
TAS Recommended! Rated a 'Best Audiophile Label Recording' in the November 2009 issue of The Absolute Sound!

West of 5th is an exciting jazz recording that features pianist Hank Jones, bassist Christian McBride and drummer Jimmy Cobb. Listeners are offered a unique opportunity to hear two esteemed veterans playing with a stellar young musician. Jones and Cobb first rose to fame performing with talents as diverse as Miles Davis, Coleman Hawkins, Hot Lips Page and others. McBride, meanwhile, only came to prominence in the 1990s. Though the latter musician is less than half the age of Jones and Cobb, the trio's interaction on West of 5th could not be more fluid. The rhythmic interplay between McBride and Cobb is particularly strong since it comes on the heels of Chesky's recent New York Time SACD, which featured those two musicians along with Cedar Walton and Javon Jackson.

West of 5th is the fifth of seven titles to be released as part of Chesky's The New York Sessions series. This collection features the greatest jazz musicians of today recorded with Chesky Records' state-of-the-art technology.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Hank Jones, piano
Christian McBride, bass
Jimmy Cobb, drums

1. On Green Dolphin Street
2. Mr. Walker
3. Speak Low
4. A Child Is Born
5. If I Were A Bell
6. Billie's Bounce
7. Lotus Blossom
8. Confirmation
9. We'll Be Togther Again
10. Stella By Starlight
11. Eleanor

Customers Also Like