Genre: Jazz


Harry Edison & Eddie Davis In Copenhagen Gold CD

Harry Edison & Eddie Davis

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
UDCD 696
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Out Of Print! Only 1 Available!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

'Sweets' and 'Jaws' began as a casual pairing which developed into one of the most well-established partnerships in jazz. Their first album together was recorded in 1962, and by 1976, Harry 'Sweets' Edison and Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis were touring Europe. In Denmark they found John Darville and Kenny Drew; and with producer Ole Matthiessen, ended up recording together in Copenhagen.

Storyville Records originally released this session as two separate Sweets and Jaws LPs: Vol. 1, John Darville's Quartet With Kenny Drew, 1978, and Vol. 2, Opus Funk, 1982. The 1997 Storyville aluminum CD version contains only eight of the album's total of twelve songs.

Mobile Fidelity has taken the original master tape and transferred a total of eleven songs for the ultimate and uninterrupted performance of these jazz masters. Accompanying Sweets (trumpet) and Jaws (tenor saxophone) are Kenny Drew (piano), Hugo Rasmussen (bass), Svend Erik Norregarrd (drums), and John Darville (trombone).

1. Lester Leaps In
2. September Song
3. Spotlite
4. Angel Eyes
5. Blues Walk
6. Opus Funk
7. You Are Too Beautiful
8. Robbin's Nest
9. Candy
10. There Is No Greater Love
11. C Jam Blues

Customers Also Like