Genre: Classical
Label: Esoteric
Composer: Haydn
Additional Artists: Orchestra of The 18th Century


Haydn Symphonies Hybrid Stereo Japanese Import 3SACD Box Set

Frans Bruggen

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Audiophile Quality 3-SACD Set!

This 3-SACD Set contains Symphonies by Haydn performed by the Orchestra of the 18th Century on period instruments, conducted by Frans Bruggen. The performances were recorded live between March 1987 and May 1993.

The reissue of classical music masterpieces by ESOTERIC has attracted a lot of attention, both for its uncompromising commitment to recreating the original master sound, and for using hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) technology to improve sound quality. This series marks the first hybrid SACD release of historical recording selections that have been mainstays of the catalog since their initial release. These audio versions feature Esoteric's proprietary re-mastering process to achieve the highest level of sound quality.

Experience the legendary performance in this new Super Audio CD/CD format. Not only for new followers, but also for well experienced followers of these recorded materials. All will be equally impressed by the “soul” hidden within the notes, but never before found in previously released recordings in any format.

The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master. ESOTERIC’s flag ship D/A converters, model D-01VU, Rubidium master clock generator model Grandioso G1 and ESOTERIC MEXCEL interconnect cables and power cords, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master.

Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC COMPANY)
Mastering Engineering: Kazuie Sugimoto (JVC Mastering Center Daikanyama Studio)

Esoteric Equipment list for this re-mastering:
• D-01VU (D/A Converters)
• Grandioso G1 (Rubidium Master Clock Generator)
• ESOTERIC Mexcel Cables

• 3-SACD set
• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan
• DSD Mastering

Orchestra of The 18th Century (on period instruments)
Frans Bruggen, conductor

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Symphonies Nos. 88, 92 & 94
Symphony in G major, Hob. I:88

1. Adagio - Allegro
2. Largo
3. Menuetto (Allegretto)
4. Finale (Allegro con spirito)
Symphony in G major, Hob. I:92 "Oxford"
5. Adagio - Allegro spiritoso
6. Adagio
7. Menuet (Allegretto)
8. Presto
Symphony in G major, Hob. I:94 "Surprise"
9. Adagio - Vivace assai
10. Andante
11. Menuetto (Allegro molto)
12. Finale (Allegro di molto)

Symphonies Nos. 96, 100 & 101
Symphony in D major, Hob. I:96 "Miracle"

1. Adagio - Allegro
2. Andante
3. Menuetto (Allegretto)
4. Finale (Vivace assai)
Symphony in G major, Hob. I:100 "Military"
5. Adagio - Allegro
6. Allegretto
7. Menuet (Moderato)
8. Finale (Presto)
Symphony in D major, Hob. I:101 "The Clock"
9. Adagio - Presto
10. Andante
11. Menuetto (Allegretto) - Trio
12. Finale (Vivace)

ESSD - 90204:
Symphonies Nos. 103 & 104
Symphony in E flat major, Hob. I:103 "Drum Roll"

1. Adagio - Allegro con spirito
2. Andante piu tosto allegretto
3. Menuet - Trio
4. Finale (Allegro con spirito)
Symphony in D major, Hob. I:104 "London"
5. Adagio - Allegro
6. Andante
7. Menuet (Allegro)
8. Finale (Spiritoso)

Recorded live:
Vredenburg, Utrecht, The Netherlands, November 1988 [No. 88]; June 1990 [No. 100]; November 1990 [No. 104]; May 1993 [No. 96]; January 1995 [No. 92]
De Vereeniging, Nijmegen, The Netherlands, November 1987 [No. 103]
Vredenburg, Utrecht & De Vereeniging, Nijmegen, The Netherlands, March 1992 [No. 94]
Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, March 1987 [No. 101]

Customers Also Like