Genre: Classical
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Konstantin Krimmel
Format: 33RPM,


Helene Grimaud Silvestrov: Silent Songs 2LP

Helene Grimaud

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Homage to Ukraine's Greatest Living Composer on Double LP!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Hélène Grimaud pays homage to Ukraine's greatest living composer with an album of songs by Valentin Silvestrov. Joined by the young baritone Konstantin Krimmel, winner of the 2018 International Helmut Deutsch Lied Competition, Grimaud presents the gentle music and quiet nostalgia of some of the most exquisitely beautiful poetry ever written. Silent Songs blends the voices of classic Russian, Ukrainian and English poets together to create a "harmony of mysterious power," as expressed in a line from the Baratynsky poem that opens the album. Valentin Silvestrov's Silent Songs includes contemplative settings of verse by Russian poets Pushkin, Lermontov, Tyutchev, Baratynsky, Zhukovsky, Yesenin and Mandelstam, Ukrainian lyrics by Taras Shevchenko, and Russian translations of poetry by Keats and Shelley. Grimaud discovered Silvestrov's Silent Songs almost 20 years ago when she received a recording of the complete song-cycle as a birthday gift. Enchanted by the composer's music, she soon added a number of his piano pieces to her repertoire and began a long search for the ideal voice to partner in Silent Songs. Her search came to an end when she was introduced to German-Romanian baritone Konstantin Krimmel. "It is music which I find deeply touching in its authenticity and transparency of feelings," observes Hélène Grimaud. "It is utterly poetic, never pretending to be something else. I am always happy to see how much it resonates with people." can hear these songs without focusing too closely on the texts; they have a mysterious alchemy of voice and piano. This is a beautiful recording that will reveal much on multiple hearings.
-James Manheim,, 4.5/5 stars


  • Double LP
  • Recorded & Mastered by Emil Berliner Studios
  • Vinyl Mastering by Sidney Meyer
  • 3 Sides of Music
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in Germany


Hélène Grimaud piano
Konstantin Krimmel vocals (baritone)


Valentin Silvestrov (b. 1937)

Silent Songs (selection)
Side A:
  1. Song can heal the ailing spirit - Yevgeni Abramovich Baratynsky
  2. There were storms and tempests - Yevgeni Abramovich Baratynsky
  3. La Belle Dame sans Merci - John Keats (transl. Wilhelm Veniaminovich Lewick)
  4. O melancholy time! Delight for eyes! - Aleksandr Sergeyevich Pushkin (excerpt from "Autumn")
  5. Farewell, O world, farewell, O earth - Taras Hryhorovych Shevchenko (excerpt from "The Dream")
Side B:
  1. I will tell you with complete directness - Osip Emil'evich Mandelstam
  2. Here's a health to thee, Mary - Aleksandr Sergeyevich Pushkin (after a poem by Bryan Waller Procter)
  3. Winter Journey - Aleksandr Sergeyevich Pushkin
  4. The Isle - Percy Bysshe Shelley (transl. Aleksandr Solomonovich Rapoport)
Side C:
  1. Autumn Song - Sergei Aleksandrovich Yesenin
  2. Swamps and marshes - Sergei Aleksandrovich Yesenin
  3. Winter Evening - Aleksandr Sergeyevich Pushkin

Customers Also Like