Herbert von Karajan Dvorak & Smetana Symphony No. 9 & Vlatava 180g LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Audiophile Vinyl Cut from the Original EMI Stereo Analogue Master Tapes at Abbey Road Studios!

In 1955 Herbert von Karajan was appointed music director for life of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. However, Karajan continued his close association with the Philharmonia Orchestra during the rest of the 1950s and with the orchestra’s founder and legendary EMI Producer, Walter Legge. EMI remained (on their Columbia label) Karajan’s record company until 1959 when he signed a contract with Deutsche Grammophon. Hence, this recording was made towards the end of his contract with EMI, although he would return to the label in future years for occasional projects (like the Beethoven Triple Concerto on HIQLP006).

Recorded in Berlin’s Grunewaldkirche on 18, 19 & 20 May 1958. Produced by the legendary Walter Legge, assisted by Fritz Ganss and engineered by Horst Lindner.

In the original 1959 review WSM of the GRAMOPHONE wrote:
“...Karajan’s version retains the more glamorous...account...The sound is rich and well placed...” Of the re-issue in 1983 Robert Layton of the GRAMOPHONE was even more effusive: “In this fresh-sounding transfer, it still remains competitive – no, highly competitive! The balance is most musically judged and the perspective natural, for it comes from the vintage years of stereo. The merits of the performance and also that of “Vltava” are well known...”

"One of a handful of early stereo recordings Karajan made with the Berlin Philharmonic while still under contract to EMI, this was produced in the pleasing acoustic of the Grunewaldkirche by Walter Legge, with sessions in Nov '57, Jan and May '58. It first appeared in mono on Columbia label [33CX1642], the stereo following a few months later in 1959. It subsequently remained in the catalogue at full price right through to 1977, when an SQ remake appeared [asd 3407]. The LP exemplifies Karajan's phenomenal ear for balance, his profound musicianship and a trait of unleashing great power at climaxes. An ageless disc." - Sound Quality 95/100!!! -

Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original stereo analogue master tapes with the Neumann VMS82 lathe fed an analogue pre-cut signal from a specially adapted Studer A80 tape deck with additional ‘advance’ playback head, making the cut a totally analogue process.

Pressed on 180g vinyl to audiophile standards using the original EMI presses by The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England.

• Hi-Q Records Supercuts 180g Vinyl
• Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original EMI stereo analogue master tapes
• Superior Audiophile Pressing
• Features original album artwork
• Made in England

Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Herbert von Karajan, conductor

Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)
Symphony No. 9 in E Major, Op. 95
("From the New World")
Side One:
1. First Movement: Adagio - Allegro molto
2. Second Movement: Largo
3. Third Movement: Scherzo (Molto vivace)
Side Two:
1. Fourth Movement: Allegro con fuoco

Bedrich Smetana (1824-1884) 2. The Moldau (Vltava No.2 of “Ma Vlast”)

Customers Also Like