Herbert von Karajan Grieg & Sibelius Peer Gynt Suites 1 & 2 & Pelleas Et Melisande Japanese Import SHM SACD

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player!

Two Popular Works from Two Classic Composers!

On this release, Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker for a performance of Grieg's Peer Gynt Suites 1 & 2 and Sibelius' Pelleas et Melisande.

Peer Gynt, Op. 23 is the incidental music to Henrik Ibsen's 1867 play of the same name, written by the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg in 1875. It premiered along with the play on February 24, 1876 in Christiania (now Oslo). Later, in 1888 and 1891, Grieg extracted eight movements to make two four-movement suites: Suite No. 1, Op. 46, and Suite No. 2, Op. 55. Some of these movements have received coverage in popular culture.

Pelléas et Mélisande, is incidental music in ten parts written in 1905 by Jean Sibelius, for Maurice Maeterlinck's 1892 drama Pelléas et Mélisande. Sibelius later on slightly rearranged the music into a nine movement suite, published as Op. 46, which became one of his most popular concert works.

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully. Also, it excels in fluidity, which enables you to cast a more accurate pit. What works wonders for a low resolution format such as CD should offer even greater sonic improvements in a real high resolution format such as SACD.

• 2-channel Single Layer SACD
• Two-channel SACD layer only, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.
• This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player

Berliner Philharmoniker
Herbert von Karajan, conductor

Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Peer Gynt Suite No.1, Op.46

1. Morning Mood
2. Ase's Death
3. Anitra's Dance
4. In The Hall of the Mountain King
Peer Gynt Suite No.2, Op.55
5. The Abduction of the Bride - Ingrid's Lament
6. Arabian Dance
7. Peer Gynt's Homecoming
8. Solveig's Song

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Pelleas et Melisande, Op.46

9. At the Castle-Gate
10. Melisande
11. At the Seashore
12. A Spring in the Park
13. The Three Blind Sisters
14. Pastorale
15. Melisande at the Spinning Wheel
16. Entr'acte
17. The Death of Melisande

Customers Also Like