Herbert von Karajan Mahler Symphony No. 5 180g 2LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl Double LP!

Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berlin Philharmonic for Mahler's Fifth Symphony. Christa Ludwig joins in a benchmark recording of Mahler’s song cycle "Kindertotenlieder".

Classics Today writes: "This is a work that plays to Karajan’s strengths. Primarily, it demands supreme virtuosity from the orchestral strings and brass. Karajan and his Berliners are in their element here. It almost goes without saying that this version of the Adagietto is the most gorgeous in the catalogue."

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Mastered from original sources
• Limited time download card
• Made in Germany

Christa Ludwig, vocals
Berlin Philharmonic
Herbert von Karajan, conductor

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor
Side 1:

1. Trauermarsch In gemessenem Schritt. Streng. Wie ein Kondukt
2. Stürmisch bewegt. Mit größter Vehemenz
Side 2:
3. Scherzo. Kräftig, nicht zu schnell
Side 3:
4. Adagietto. Sehr langsam - attacca:
5. Rondo-Finale. Allegro - Allegro giocoso. Frisch
Side 4:
Chants pour des enfants morts
after poems by Friedrich Ruckert
1. Nun will die Sonn' so hell aufgeh'n
2. Nun seh' ich wohl, warum so dunkle Flammen
3. Wenn dein Mütterlein
4. Oft denk' ich, sie sind nur ausgegangen
5. In diesem Wetter, in diesem Braus

Customers Also Like