Genre: Jazz
Label: Blue Note
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Art Blakey Al McKibbon
Format: 33RPM,


Herbie Nichols The Prophetic Herbie Nichols Vol. 1 & 2 (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series) 180g LP

Herbie Nichols

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Blue Note Classic Vinyl Reissue Series!
180g Vinyl LP!
Mastered By Kevin Gray From Original Analog Tapes!
Pressed At Optimal!

Herbie Nichols was one of the most highly original and under-recognized pianists and composers in jazz history. Blue Note founder Alfred Lion consider him to be every bit as unique and important as Thelonious Monk, another singular talent who Lion was the first to record just a few years before he signed Nichols in 1955. Little-known during his lifetime, recognition has begun to grow in recent years for Nichols' incredibly hip, angular compositions like "The Third World," "2300 Skidoo," "Step Tempest," and "Dance Line," each of which were miniature marvels built with their own sturdy inner logic. In May 1955, Nichols recorded two sessions with Al McKibbon on bass and Art Blakey on drums which were originally released as The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 1 and The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 2. The two 10" LPs are combined here onto a single 12" LP that's presented in gatefold packaging with the two covers on the front and back with the liner notes on the inside.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


  • Blue Note Classic Vinyl Reissue Series
  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • All-Analog Pressing
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray from Original Analog Tapes
  • Manufactured at Optimal in Germany
  • Both Volumes Combined on a Single LP
  • Gatefold Packaging
  • Liner Notes


Herbie Nichols piano
Al McKibbon bass
Art Blakey drums


Side 1 - BLP 5068 Vo. 1:

  1. The Third World
  2. Step Tempest
  3. Dance Line
  4. Blue Chopsticks
  5. Double Exposure
  6. Cro-Magnon Nights

Side 2 - BLP 5069 Vol. 2:

  1. Amoeba's Dance
  2. Crisp Day
  3. 2300 Skiddoo
  4. It Didn't Happen
  5. Shuffle Montgomery
  6. Brass Rings

Customers Also Like