Hermeto Pascoal E Grupo Planetario Da Gavea Import 2LP

Hermeto Pascoal E Grupo

$29.99 $39.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

1981 Live Performance from "The Sorcerer" & His Band!
Psychedelic Jams, Powerful Rhythms & Jaw-Dropping Solos!

On a balmy Brazilian night in February 1981, a crowd gathered in Rio de Janeiro's Gávea neighborhood under the iconic dome of the city's Planetário (Planetarium). Alongside musicians like Helio Delmiro and Milton Nascimento (who were in the audience that night), the crowd was there to see the great "Bruxo" (sorcerer), Hermeto Pascoal, live in concert with his new band formation, which would become known simply as "O Grupo" (The Group).

On the Planetário Da Gávea recordings, Hermeto is cast as the "sorcerer" or the "cosmic emissary," exhibiting an intuitive sense of harmony and melody beyond that of our own world. "Tudo e Som" (All is Sound). It's an understanding of the universe as being in a state of constant movement, forever vibrating at the quantum level, like the string of a guitar, or a saxophone's reed.

The series of concerts at the Planetário marked the birth of "O Grupo" which would last with the same lineup (apart from Zé Eduardo Nazário) for the next eleven years. Every member of O Grupo was a phenomenal musician in their own right. It was one of saxophonist/flautist Carlos Malta's first gigs with the group, and the concert unusually featured two drummers, Zé Eduardo Nazário and Marcio Bahia. Nazário, from São Paulo, had played with Hermeto during the mid-'70s. Acclaimed keyboard player Jovino Santos Neto was on keyboards, piano and organ, and the great Itiberê Zwarg, played bass. Rounding the group off was the percussionist Pernambuco.

During this period (up until the early '90s) the group would rehearse for hours on end, virtually seven days a week, with a total dedication to music and Hermeto's musical vision. Most of the compositions performed that night at the Planetário had never been recorded before, and many are unique to this album. The show also features the first recorded performances of "Era Pra Ser e Não Foi" and "Ilza na Feijoada" (inspired by Hermetos' wife Ilza's famed black bean and meat stew), which Hermeto later recorded on his 1984 studio album, Lagoa Da Canoa Município De Arapiraca.

Dubbed by Miles Davis as "one of the most important musicians on the planet," a Hermeto Pascoal live show was (and still is) an experience like no other. Across the recording of the Planetário concert, wild improvisation meets groovy, virtuosic vamping on progressive, extended psychedelic jams. The tracks are generally built around a beautiful, transcendent melody, instantly recognizable as being Hermeto's, and for the most part, the musicians then solo over extended two chord vamps. There's a plethora of powerfully delivered rhythms, wild solos and the performances are punctuated by Hermeto's unpredictable, at times comical sonic antics.

Note: These are live recordings and were not recorded in a professional studio, therefore the sound may differ from other releases by Hermeto Pascoal. The concert was recorded onto cassette and is the only surviving audio source. The best care has been taken in the mastering and restoration of these recordings.

This soundboard tape is more than 40 years old. Daniel Maunick's restoration is remarkable....[The] fidelity is excellent. He went to great pains to preserve the gig's raw atmosphere and the band's knife-edge drama.... Planetário da Gávea is a grail for fans of Pascoal and vintage Brazilian jazz. This music is presented as wooly, raw, joyous, and virtuosic. This band not only fired on all cylinders here, they created wildly inventive new directions for electric samba, Brazilian jazz-funk, and '80s fusion.
-Thom Jurek,, 5/5 stars


  • Double LP
  • Many Tracks Unique to this Album
  • Recorded at Planetário Da Gávea, Rio de Janeiro, February 1981
  • Original Tape Transfer by Gabriel M. Yazbeck
  • Additional Tape Restoration by Daniel Maunick
  • Mastered by Lelo Nazario at Utopia Studio & Pete Norman at Finyl Tweek
  • Import
  • Made in the EU


Hermeto Pascoal piano, baritone horn, tenor saxophone, flute, vocals
Carlos Malta soprano saxophone, flute, piccolo
Zé Eduardo Nazário drums, percussion
Marcio Bahia drums, percussion
Itiberê Zwarg acoustic & electric bass, piano
Jovino Santos Neto piano, electric piano, clavinet, harmonium
Pernambuco percussion


Side A:

  1. Samba Do Belaqua
  2. Era Pra Ser e Não Foi

Side B:

  1. Vou Pra Lá e Pra Cá
  2. Bombardino

Side C:

  1. Jegue
  2. Säo Jorge / Ilza na Feijoada
  3. Duo de Bateras Part II

Side D:

  1. Homônimo Sintróvio
  2. Homônimo Sintróvio Part II

Customers Also Like