Hermitage Piano Trio Spanish Impressions HDCD

Hermitage Piano Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Exploration of Spain's Musical Heritage on Stereo CD!
This Elite Trio Will Take Your Breath Away!
HDCD Encoded with Deluxe Booklet!

Reference Recordings is pleased to announce Spanish Impressions, their second album with this elite trio. The Hermitage Piano Trio consists of violinist Misha Keylin, cellist Sergey Antonov, and pianist Ilya Kazantsev. The trio has been praised for its "polished and spirited interpretations" (The Washington Post), "absolute rhythmic precision and dynamic exuberance" (Boston Musical Intelligencer), and "powerful, intelligent and deeply moving performances" (The Seattle Times). Their first album on the Reference Recordings label, Rachmaninoff, was nominated for three 2020 GRAMMY® Awards in the categories of Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance, Best Engineered Album, Classical, and Producer Of The Year, Classical.

In Spanish Impressions, the trio explores the rich and diverse musical heritage of Spain, from the folkloric dances of Arbós's Tres Piezas Originales en Estilo Español, Op. 1, to the lyrical and expressive Piano Trio No. 2 in B minor, Op. 76 by Turina, who composed it after the death of his daughter. The album also showcases the virtuosic and passionate Piano Trio in C Major by Cassadó, a renowned cellist who infused his music with Spanish and Catalan elements, and the Tres Impresiones by Perelló, a violinist who dedicated his work to his friends and colleagues in the Trio Barcelona. This project has been years in the making. The album was recorded in April 2023 by RR's own GRAMMY® winning and multi­ nominated engineering team at legendary Skywalker Sound, in Marin County, California.

GRAMMY®­winning producers Victor and Marina Ledin describing how it came about:

"For the last several years we have been exchanging scores, ideas and developing programs. The trio had been performing two extraordinary Spanish trios by Turina and Cassado—romantic, exotic and lush works. Using these two works as anchor points, we built around them 'bookends'—three Spanish dances by Arbos and three Spanish impressions by Perello. All four composers are interconnected to one another through their relationships to each other. Arbos was a celebrated conductor who also orchestrated Albeniz's Iberia and Perello was a violinist who studied with Albeniz and performed with Granados—both of these gentlemen had close ties to Turina (Arbos conducted many of his works) and Cassado (a celebrated cellist, and next to Casals, among the greatest cellists of Spain). Yes, there are a few recordings out there of the Turina and Cassado, while the Arbos and Perello are musical gems and rarities. The Perello score only exists in a few European libraries—it took us most of two years to get PDFs of the score during the pandemic."


  • Stereo CD Encoded with HDCD
  • 24-bit
  • Recorded April 11-14, 2023 at Skywalker Sound, Marin County, California
  • Produced by Victor & Marina A. Ledin
  • Recording Engineers: Sean Royce Martin; Keith O. Johnson
  • Mastering Engineer: Sean Royce Martin
  • Deluxe Booklet
  • Total Time: 68:44
  • Made in USA


Ilya Kazantsev piano
Sergey Antonov cello
Misha Keylin violin


Arbós, Enrique Fernández (1863–1939)

Trois Pièces originales dans le genre Espagnol (Three Spanish Dances), Op. 1 (1886)
  1. I. Bolero (Tempo di Bolero)
  2. II. Habanera (Allegretto moderato)
  3. III. Seguidillas Gitanas (Allegro ma non troppo)

Turina, Joaquín (1882-1949)

Piano Trio No. 2 in B Minor, Op. 76 (1932/33)
  1. I. Lento
  2. II. Molto Vivace
  3. III. Lento

Cassadó, Gaspar (1897-1966)

Piano Trio in C Major (1926)
  1. I. Allegro risoluto
  2. II. Tempo moderato e pesante
  3. III. Recitativo, Moderato ed appassionato

Perelló, Mariano (1886-1960)

Tres Impresiones para violin, violincello y piano (1922)
  1. I. Pensando en Albéniz (Poco allegro)
  2. II. Capricho Andaluz (Allegro)
  3. III. Escena Gitana (Allegro)

Customers Also Like