Howard McGhee Dusty Blue 180g LP

Howard McGhee

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Classic 1961 Jazz Record on 180g Vinyl LP!
Remastered by Kevin Gray from the Original Analog Tape Transfers!
Printed & Pressed at Pallas!

Truly one of the great trumpeters of the bop era, Howard McGhee suffered with drug addiction his whole career which meant his band-leading recorded output was minimal. Although the 1950s had largely been a waste for McGhee, Dusty Blue, recorded in 1960, marked a strong return-to-form and is credited amongst fans as some of his best recordings. Featuring an all-star band of Bennie Green, Pepper Adams, Tommy Flanagan, Roland Alexander as well as the ever-touring Ron Carter, this is a collective of musicians at their very best. Mastered from the original tape transfers by Kevin Gray, this is a sublime recording from start to finish.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Remastered from the Original Analog Tape Transfers by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Printed & Pressed at Pallas
  • 12" Insert Featuring a Photographic Print
  • Deluxe Reverse-Board Jacket
  • Officially Licensed from Bethlehem/BMG


Howard McGhee trumpet
Bennie Green trombone
Pepper Adams baritone sax
Roland Alexander tenor sax
Tommy Flanagan piano
Walter Bolden drums
Ronald Carter bass


Side 1:

  1. Dusty Blue
  2. Sound of Music
  3. I Concentrate on You
  4. Sleep Talk
  5. Park Avenue Petite

Side 2:

  1. Flyin' Colors
  2. With Malice Towards None
  3. Groovin' High
  4. Cottage for Sale

Customers Also Like