Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Hugh Masekela Trumpet Africaine Import LP

Hugh Masekela

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming April 21, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in-stock items will have all in-stock items shipped immediately!

Hugh Masekela's Debut Album!
Reissue, Originally Released in 1962!

Reissue, originally released in 1962. Trumpet Africaine was Hugh Masekela's debut album, recorded in New York and released in 1962, two years after Masekela had left South Africa in reaction to the increasing inhumanity of the apartheid regime. Masekela's trumpet shines on top of Hugo Montenegro's fine orchestral arrangements while the track list includes, among others, five fresh instrumental versions of Miriam Makeba's songs. Trumpet Africaine was an important early statement from one of the most representative South African musicians of its time.


  • Vinyl LP
  • Import


  1. Satisfying Song
  2. Merci Bon Dieu
  3. House of the Rising Sun
  4. Sit Down (Lord, I Can't Sit Down)
  5. He's Gone Away
  6. Click Song
  7. Guinean Song
  8. Ox Drivers Song
  9. Umhome
  10. Magwalandini
  11. Morning of the Carnival (Theme From "Black Orpheus")
  12. Wimoweh

Customers Also Like