Iris DeMent Infamous Angel (30th Anniversary Edition) LP

Iris DeMent

$19.99 $24.99
(You save $5.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

30th Anniversary Edition on Vinyl LP.
Remastered by Mike Westbrook of MW Audio!

Iris DeMent released Infamous Angel in 1992. Nearly 30 years later, the album remains among the most singular and fully realized singer-songwriter debuts since the invention of that category in the early '70s. The abiding strengths of the album are especially impressive, even a bit startling, because 1992 is not a moment usually associated with her intimate brand of acoustic country music. In country history, the year 1992 is most immediately affiliated with Garth Brooks, whose album The Chase topped both the country and pop album charts that year, and with Billy Ray Cyrus' "Achy Breaky Heart," which fueled a line dance craze. Squeezed into a playlist alongside such hits, DeMent's doleful, hushed "Our Town" would've sounded as if it were being broadcast from another planet. "People call me country," she told journalist Ben Thompson while on tour in Britain a couple years later. "But country doesn't call me country."

Let's call her country. The genre is always more expansive than what radio stations program. It happened Infamous Angel is close kin to a different sort of country music that was just then having a moment: specifically, country singer-songwriters, focusing on personal, but universal, loss and hope and favoring small acoustic combos. It may have been out of step with the mainstream, but Infamous Angel arrived right on time.

A remarkable debut, Infamous Angel established Iris DeMent as one of the greatest artists of her generation. With her gift for poignant, confessional songwriting and a voice that makes raw beauty seem like a brand new thing, she invokes the elemental magic of the Carter Family while sounding as fresh and modern as John Prine...this is an album to be cherished and played as long as one has life to listen.
-Jim Smith,, 5/5 stars


  • 30th Anniversary Edition
  • Remastered for Vinyl by Mike Westbrook of MW Audio
  • Vinyl LP
  • Gatefold Sleeve
  • Made in Czech Republic


Side One:

  1. Let The Mystery Be
  2. These Hills
  3. Hotter Than Mojave In My Heart
  4. When Love Was Young
  5. Our Town
  6. Fifty Miles Of Elbow Room

Side B:

  1. Infamous Angel
  2. Sweet Forgiveness
  3. After You've Gone
  4. Mama's Opry
  5. Higher Ground

Customers Also Like