Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Iron Butterfly Evolution: The Best Of Iron Butterfly 180g LP

Iron Butterfly

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso and Kevin Gray From Original Atco Records Tapes!

Iron Butterfly is truly an amazing success story in the record business. For over forty years, this band remained a significant force in the classic rock world with their original mix of rock, metal and classic leanings, solidifying them as one of the true purveyors of the progressive rock movement.

Founded by the multi-talented keyboardist/vocalist Doug Ingle in San Diego in 1966, the band hit the charts immediately with their very first album Heavy and soon became one of the key favorite biker bands and west coast hard rockers alongside entities like Steppenwolf, Grateful Dead and The Doors. Their music was challenging, loud, exciting and definitely original, which brought them huge popularity in a very short period of time.

1968 changed everything as In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida became a massive smash hit single and LP garnering Iron Butterfly gold and platinum success globally. This tune displayed the first example of a driving hard rock jam and lyric, with classical, organic and tribal rhythms, making it one of the most important songs of our time. Featuring Doug Ingle’s keyboard and vocal expertise, Lee Dorman’s power bass, guitar shredder Erik Brann, and Ron Bushy’s primitive drum beat, this amazing song will forever be associated with the acid rock era, which paved the way for heavy metal bands into the seventies and beyond.

Over the years, more successful albums like Ball and Iron Butterfly Live followed. Two new members joined the band, vocalist/guitarist Mike Pinera (Blues Image) and the late great lead guitarist Rhino Reinhardt (Captain Beyond). They both added to the groove on the brilliant Metamorphosis album.

In 1971, Atco Records awarded their stellar hard rock champions with their first greatest hits album called Evolution - The Best Of Iron Butterfly, which contained eleven smokin’ selections from their first four hit LP’s. Smashes are plentiful like the hit single In-A Gadda-Da-Vida and other killer jams like Soul Experience, Easy Rider, Termination, and the awesome Iron Butterfly Theme. This masterwork has been out of print on vinyl for many decades...that is until now!

Friday Music is very proud to offer the first installment in their Iron Butterfly 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Series with their classic 1971 smash album Evolution - The Best Of Iron Butterfly. Impeccably mastered from the original Atco tapes by Joe Reagoso (Grateful
Dead/Yes/Deep Purple) at Friday Music Studios with Kevin Gray, this limited edition 180 Gram LP is also presented in the original album cover layout, featuring the original photos and artwork elements not seen in years.

Iron Butterfly...Evolution...Their greatest hits...First Time 180 Gram Vinyl...From your friends at Friday Music...In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida !!!

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered from Original Atco Records Tapes
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso & Kevin Gray
• Original album cover layout
• Original photos and artwork elements

Side One:

1. Iron Butterfly Theme
2. Possession
3. Unconscious Power
4. Flowers And Beads
5. Termination
6. In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida
Side Two:
1. Soul Experience
2. Stone Believer
3. Belda-Beast
4. Easy Rider
5. Slower Than Guns

Customers Also Like