Genre: Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey Winterwood LP

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming August 6, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Previously Unreleased Final Studio Album On Vinyl LP!

Winterwood is JFJO's never-before-released, final studio album with founding member and bassist Reed Mathis. Recorded at Winterwood Recording Studio in the Ozark Mountains of Arkansas in 2008, Mathis left the band shortly after tracking the LP causing the band to shelve its release.

While there was a high level of friction among band members at the time, Mathis always felt like the recording captured JFJO at their creative and experimental peak. With time on his hands in 2020 following the cancellation of tour dates and session work due to the pandemic, Mathis dusted off the audio and remixed the album from scratch.

The line-up at the time of the recording, included JFJO's other founding member Brian Haas on keys and the recent addition of Josh Raymer on drums. Each track began by recording Haas on solo acoustic piano initiating the song's melodic theme. The band would later overdub additional parts one by one in full electric mode on top of Haas' acoustic piano track. As each instrumental part was layered into the recording, the player adding his parts was conducted by another member in a truly collaborative process. Mathis would pour over the album in post production, sneaking in additional nuances and gems.


  • Previously Unreleased
  • Vinyl LP


Brian Haas piano, Rhodes, melodica, toy piano
Reed Mathis guitars, bass, soprano bass, lap steel, banjo
Josh Raymer drums, percussion


  1. Dove's Army Of Love
  2. Song Of The Vipers
  3. A-Bird
  4. Oklahoma Stomp
  5. Goodnight Ollie
  6. Old Love, New Love
  7. Crazy Fingers
  8. The Slip
  9. Twinstar
  10. Earl Hines
  11. Bumper Crop Of Strange
  12. Walking Before Daylight
  13. Vernal Equinox

Customers Also Like