Genre: Jazz
Label: ECM
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Jakob Bro, Thomas Morgan, Jon Christensen Gefion LP

Jakob Bro, Thomas Morgan, Jon Christensen

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
High Quality Vinyl LP!

Gefion is Danish guitarist Jakob Bro’s first ECM album as leader, following recordings for the label as sideman with Paul Motian and Tomasz Stanko. Like the work of those masters, Bro’s balladeering distils a sense of jazz history in its specific and highly personal atmospheres. The open forms of Bro’s compositions leave plenty of space for his companions – drum legend Jon Christensen and creative bassist-of-the-moment Thomas Morgan - to make their statements, interactively and in parallel.

And there is space too for the listener’s imagination to follow the flow and the delicate melodic tracery of Bro’s electric guitar in this thoughtful and poetic album. Gefion was recorded in Oslo’s Rainbow Studio in November 2013 and produced by Manfred Eicher.

"Here it is Morgan who plays both a lyric center as well as a more insistent -- yet still sparse -- harmonic foil. Listen to the long, quietly unfolding title track for evidence. Add to this Christensen's unhurried, texturally contrasting cymbal work, which never centers but moves behind and in front of "the beat" to underscore the interactions between his partners and extend them with his own sense of lyricism...Gefion is quiet; it never insists. The listeners' attention can be focused on the intersection of sounds and spaces because what emerges in the end is remarkable for all of its deliberate restraint." -Thom Jurek,

• High Quality Pressing
• Free MP3 download code included

Jakob Bro, guitar
Thomas Morgan, double bass
Jon Christensen, drums

Side One:

1. Gefion
2. Copenhagen
3. And They All Came Marching Out of the Woods
Side Two:
1. White
2. Lyskaster
3. Airport Poem
4. Oktober
5. Ending

Recorded November 2013

Customers Also Like