Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Janis Ian Between The Lines 180g LP

Janis Ian

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Limited Edition High Quality 180g Vinyl!
Remastered by Kevin Gray from Original Analog Tapes and Pressed at RTI!

Janis Ian's smash hit Between the Lines is now available on High Quality 180g Vinyl!

Boxstar's lacquers were cut using Acoustech's all-analog system and pressed at RTI.  Meticulously remastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog tapes, Between the Lines should quickly become an absolute "Must Add!!" for all serious audiophile collectors!

Originally released in 1975, the seventh, and best-known, album from Janis Ian contains her hit single "At Seventeen". The single reached #3 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #1 on the Adult Contemporary charts while the album reached #1 on the Billboard 200 charts. Ian was awarded the 1975 Grammy for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance for the song.

Janis Ian began her career at the very young age of 13 when she wrote and sang her first single "Society's Child (Baby I've Been Thinking)". The song was released three times between 1965 and 1967 before becoming a national hit after being featured in a TV special by Leonard Bernstein titled Inside Pop: The Rock Revolution. The subject matter of the song, regarding a forbidden interracial romance, was considered too controversial by most radio stations and record labels at the time.

The single "Society's Child (Baby I've Been Thinking)", along with her 1967 debut album, were finally released on Verve Forecast. The hit album reached #12. In 2001, the single "Society's Child" was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame with the honor of being a recording considered timeless and important to music history.

Ian's most successful single in the U.S. was the 1975 release "At Seventeen", which is included on this album. The song deals with the bittersweetness of adolescent issues such as popularity, teenage angst, and the cruelty that comes with it. The song was acclaimed by critics and fans alike.

• Limited Edition
• High Quality 180g Vinyl
• Lacquers cut using Acoustech's all-analog system
• Pressed at RTI
• Remastered by Kevin Gray from Original Analog Tapes

1. When the Party's Over
2. At Seventeen
3. From Me To You
4. Bright Lights and Promises
5. In the Winter
6. Water Colors
7. Between the Lines
8. The Come On
9. Light a Light
10. Tea and Sympathy
11. Lover's Lullaby

Customers Also Like